Specialized scores 6.0 across 12 products; Trek scores 5.5 across 12. They overlap in electric bikes. That is 100% of what Specialized sells and 100% of what Trek sells. Specialized leads on battery, Trek on weight.
Across everything we scored, Specialized sits 0.49 ahead — led by battery.
Brand verdict
ahead · +0.49 (6.0 vs 5.5)
Pick Specialized when
Battery matters most5.0vs2.5
Pick Trek when
Weight matters most7.5vs6.0
Scored 19 October 2026 from published specs and owner reviews. We don't buy or test units. How we score
Usability Specialized and Trek, median scores 0 to 10
Median scores on a 0–10 scale.
SpecializedTrek
BatterySpecialized: 5 (higher)Trek: 2.5
Specialized top-scored: Turbo Levo R Comp Electric Mountain Bike
840 Wh Turbo X2 internal pack on the mountain ladder
Option: 280 Wh Range Extender sold separately, not priced in the store read
Trek top-scored: Charter+ 4S Electric City Bike
540 Wh Bosch battery on the commuter ladder
Range: up to 45 mi claimed by Trek
Ride HardwareSpecialized: 9.5 (higher)Trek: 7
Specialized top-scored: Turbo Levo R Comp Electric Mountain Bike
4-piston discs, 200 mm rotors, 140 mm air fork, 130 mm rear, torque sensing, tubeless rims
Trek top-scored: Charter+ 4S Electric City Bike
hydraulic discs, 180 mm rotors, 63 mm coil fork, torque sensor, puncture-resistant tires
Fork: 63 mm in the spec, 50 mm in the store text
MotorSpecialized: 5 (higher)Trek: 3
Specialized top-scored: Turbo Levo R Comp Electric Mountain Bike
Specialized 3.1 mid-drive, 105 Nm
Peak: 810 W claimed, not scored
Class: maker places its US full-suspension eMTBs in Class 1 (20 mph); testers report a 28 mph menu option on the 3.1 system
Trek top-scored: Charter+ 4S Electric City Bike
85 Nm Bosch Performance Line Sport mid-drive
Conflict: Trek's Charter+ FAQ gives 90 Nm, the store spec 85 Nm
Peak: 750 W listed, not scored
VerificationSpecialized: 6 (higher)Trek: 4
Specialized top-scored: Turbo Levo R Comp Electric Mountain Bike
UL Product iQ QGNS.E533753 (Specialized) lists product ID 223523 under UL 2849
Searched: UL Certipedia Intertek SGS TÜV SÜD CPSC Health Canada
Record: UL Product iQ, UL 2849 (QGNS, Electrical Systems for E-Bikes), 223523 (Specialized product ID of the Turbo Levo R Comp), Specialized Bicycle Components Inc.
Trek top-scored: Charter+ 4S Electric City Bike
ACT Lab UL 2849 test certificate names Charter+ 4S SO; no NRTL listing
Searched: ACT Lab compliance directory (not an NRTL) Intertek Certipedia UL SGS TÜV SÜD CPSC Health Canada
Record: ACT Lab compliance directory (not an NRTL), ANSI/CAN/UL 2849 (sample test), Charter +4S SO, TREK Bicycle Corporation
Record: Intertek ETL, ANSI/CAN/UL 2849 (drive system), Bosch eBike system: Active Line, Active Line Plus, Cargo Line, Performance Line, Performance Line CX / CARGO, Performance Line Sport, ... (no bike model named), ROBERT BOSCH LLC - Foothill Ranch, CA
WeightSpecialized: 6Trek: 7.5 (higher)
Specialized top-scored: Turbo Levo R Comp Electric Mountain Bike
49 lb 4 oz (22.34 kg), size S3
Trek top-scored: Charter+ 4S Electric City Bike
67.58 lb (30.65 kg), size medium
FeaturesSpecialized: 4Trek: 5 (higher)
Specialized top-scored: Turbo Levo R Comp Electric Mountain Bike
removable side-entry battery, colour display, Apple Find My
Specialized top-scored: Turbo Levo R Comp Electric Mountain Bike
two years on motor; battery two years or 300 cycles
Frame: lifetime to the registered original owner, not scored
Trek top-scored: Charter+ 4S Electric City Bike
two years or 500 cycles on the Bosch motor and battery
Social score about Specialized and Trek
Independent sources pooled per brand. N of M = how many scored products carry the brand-level reading shown, out of all scored.
SpecializedTrek
Same score
RedditSpecialized: 5Trek: 5
Specialized
Read the full summary
R/ebikes: a longtime Levo owner reports two major failures on a new S-Works Levo 4 within about three months and slow warranty handling (Sep 2025)
r/ebikes: a 15-month Vado SL 2 5.0 owner finds the assist smooth and quiet and the range in line with the maker's estimates (Aug 2025)
Brand rollup across scored products. 8 of 12 scored products carry this reading.
Trek
Read the full summary
R/ebikes: a Trek Super Commuter+ 8S owner logged 20,000 miles on his second motor (Jul 2026)
r/ebikes: a commenter weighing an FX+ 7S said mainstream bike-shop brands age better and have the best parts availability for commuting (Apr 2026)
r/CargoBike: Fetch+ owners split between hub and spoke repairs and praise for local Trek dealer fixes (Mar 2026)
Brand rollup across scored products. 7 of 12 scored products carry this reading.
GoogleSpecialized: 7Trek: 7
Specialized
Read the full summary
Blister found the Levo 4 Comp Alloy quiet with roomy frame storage but wanted a burlier fork; unit source not stated (Jan 2026)|Cycling Electric rated the Vado SL 2 4.0 Alloy 4.5 of 5; unit source not stated (Apr 2025)
Brand rollup across scored products. 5 of 12 scored products carry this reading.
Trek
Read the full summary
OutdoorGearLab (bought units) ranked the Charter+ 4S 10th of 19 with 80 points and the FX+ 7S 18th of 19 with 65 points, praising ride quality and quiet motors and marking down range and power (2025-2026)|Pinkbike and ENDURO called the Fuel+ EX a natural, balanced trail eMTB with modest power (Mar and Sep 2026)
Brand rollup across scored products. 3 of 12 scored products carry this reading.
The scores above are our reading of the evidence below. This is the evidence.
Safety listings are recorded per product from the certifier's own directory, by model, not from the maker's wording. Most of the listings in this category can be checked in TÜV Rheinland's Certipedia.
Warranty terms
Specialized
12of 12
2 Years12
Trek
12of 12
2 Years12
Best Specialized vs best Trek, category by category
The three best-scoring products each brand sells in every category they both compete in, ranked by overall score.
Scores calculated 19 October 2026 · Products excluded where fewer than two independent sources cover them · Researched and edited by Michael Ambrose · Unbroken Ads LLC · How we score