Specialized Turbo Vado 2 5.0 Step-Through Commuter Electric Bike

  • Class 3
  • 601-800 Wh
  • 61-80 mi claimed
  • 251-300 lb max load

SVT Score, Upper

Versus
6.3
SVT SCORESRead review

A step-through Class 3 commuter with a 90 Nm mid-drive, a removable 710 Wh battery, radar, lights, rack and fenders, at about 57 lb.

$4,500

We may earn a commission if you buy through this link. It never affects our scores. How this works

SKU: SPEC-4263672 Category: Brand:

Usability

6.3 out of 10
  • Range: up to 75 miles claimed on the maker's Vado compare page
  • Class: maker lists 28 mph, Class 3
  • Fork: RockShox Recon Silver RL, spring type not stated, counted as one point
  • Extra: integrated Garmin radar on the display
  • Searched: UL Certipedia Intertek SGS TÜV SÜD CPSC Health Canada
  • Record: UL Product iQ, UL 2849 (QGNS, Electrical Systems for E-Bikes), VADO 5.0 STEP THROUGH, VADO 5.0 STEP THROUGH UL, VADO 5.0 STEP THROUGH NB (product ID 263672 not on the list), Specialized Bicycle Components Inc.
  • Frame: lifetime to the registered original owner, not scored

Strengths

  • Strong motor for hills
  • Rack and fenders come fitted
  • Integrated lights and radar
  • Low step-through frame
  • Battery locks in and lifts out

Drawbacks

  • Heavy to lift
  • No throttle
  • Owners get less range than claimed
  • Short warranty for the price
Verdict

A powerful, well-equipped step-through commuter, but heavy to lift

Social score

6.0 out of 10
RedditBrand-level5 out of 10
  • r/ebikes: a longtime Levo owner reports two major failures on a new S-Works Levo 4 within about three months and slow warranty handling (Sep 2025)
  • r/ebikes: a 15-month Vado SL 2 5.0 owner finds the assist smooth and quiet and the range in line with the maker's estimates (Aug 2025)
GoogleBrand-level7 out of 10

Blister found the Levo 4 Comp Alloy quiet with roomy frame storage but wanted a burlier fork; unit source not stated (Jan 2026)|Cycling Electric rated the Vado SL 2 4.0 Alloy 4.5 of 5; unit source not stated (Apr 2025)

YouTubeNot scored

The YouTube pool is blank: the Specialized e-bike videos found came from ElectricBikeReview.com and Electric Bike Report, which take maker testing fees, or from channels that do not state where the bike came from (Oct 2026).

AmazonNot scored

The Amazon pool is blank: a search found no Specialized e-bike sold on Amazon US under the brand's own name, only third-party accessories (Oct 2026).

User reviewsNot scored

The retailer pool is blank: none of REI, Dick's Sporting Goods, Walmart, Target, Best Buy or Costco lists any Specialized e-bike, as their site searches show; Specialized sells these through its own stores and dealers (October 2026).

Trustpilot
  • The Trustpilot page for specialized.com scores 3.6 of 5 from 713 reviews (Oct 2026).
  • That page shows 39% five-star and 48% one-star reviews.
  • Specialized claimed the page in November 2017 and has not invited reviews recently.
Track record
  • The BBB rates Specialized Bicycle Components F and does not accredit it, with 11 complaints filed in three years (Oct 2026).
  • A CPSC recall in March 2025 replaced chain guards on Vado and Como IGH e-bikes sold from March 2021 to November 2024.
  • A CPSC recall in March 2026 replaces the fork on Turbo Como SL e-bikes.
  • A search of Health Canada recalls found no separate notice for these e-bikes (Oct 2026).
Not countedExcluded

Not counted in any pool: the brand's own store reviews and Q&A, its YouTube channels and social pages, dealer pages, and ambassador or affiliate posts.

Specs

  • TypeCommuter
  • E-Bike ClassClass 3
  • Battery601-800 Wh
  • MotorMid-drive
  • Top Speed21-28 mph
  • Claimed Range61-80 mi
  • Weight56-70 lb
  • Max Rider Load251-300 lb
  • BrakesHydraulic disc
  • SuspensionFront
  • FoldingDoes not fold
  • CertificationsUL 2849 listed
  • Warranty2 Years

At a glance

  • Thudbuster seatpost
  • Brass bell included
  • Chain cover fitted

Specialized is a brand of Specialized Bicycle Components, Inc., a privately held company in Morgan Hill, California.

  • Specialized's stores sell a Turbo e-bike range from gravel roads to enduro trails.
  • Its US online store at specialized.com sells these e-bikes with ship-to-home delivery or in-store pickup.
  • Authorized Specialized retailers across the US also sell them.
  • None of REI, Dick's Sporting Goods, Walmart, Target, Best Buy or Costco sells Specialized Turbo e-bikes as the seller; Specialized sells them through its own stores and authorized dealers (October 2026).

The Specialized Turbo Vado 2 5.0 Step-Through is a Class 3 commuter e-bike with an E5 aluminum step-through frame, a Shimano CUES 11-speed drivetrain and the Specialized 2.2 mid-drive (90 Nm, 250 W nominal). Its integrated, lockable downtube battery holds 710 Wh and comes out for charging.

Brakes are Shimano CUES four-piston hydraulic discs, the fork is an 80 mm RockShox Recon Silver RL and the tires are 650b x 2.3 in Pathfinder Sport Reflect with BlackBelt protection.

It comes with a 27 kg rack, DRYTECH fenders, Lezyne and Spanninga lights, an integrated Garmin radar, a kickstand and a Cane Creek Thudbuster seatpost. The maker lists 57 lb 6.9 oz (26.05 kg) in size MD, a 300 lb structural limit and up to 75 miles of range for the Vado 5.0.

The Turbo Vado 2 5.0 IGH and 5.0 IGH Step-Through sell at $4,749.99 each on the same store.

Questions answered from our data

All questions we answer

Stuff VS Things
Logo
Compare items
  • Total (0)
Versus
0
Shopping cart