Product comparison · Red Light Therapy Panels

Kala Sauna Panel vs Bon Charge Super Max

The Kala Sauna Panel scores 5.6 and ranks 36th of 43 in Red Light Therapy Panels; the Bon Charge Super Max scores 2.7 and ranks 43rd of 43 in Red Light Therapy Panels. The Sauna Panel leads on value.

All 10 Kala products
Kala Sauna Panel

Kala Sauna Panel

$1,250 · 36th of 43 in Red Light Therapy Panels

Buy Now
  • Value — 4 against 2
5.6
vs
2.7
All 10 Bon Charge products
Bon Charge Super Max Red Light Therapy Panel

Bon Charge Super Max

$1,599 · 43rd of 43 in Red Light Therapy Panels

Buy Now

    Across everything we scored, Kala Sauna Panel sits 2.88 ahead — led by value.

    Verdict

    Sauna Panel ahead · +2.88 (5.6 vs 2.7)

    Pick the Kala Sauna Panel when

    Warranty & support matters4vs2

    Value matters4vs2

    Price matters$1,250vs$1,599

    Pick the Bon Charge Super Max when

    A criterion we do not score decides itthe Super Max leads on none of the ones we do

    Scored 8 October 2026 from published specs and owner reviews. We don't buy or test units. How we score

    Where the Kala Sauna Panel and Bon Charge Super Max differ

    Scores on a 0–10 scale. Each row is one criterion, biggest difference first.

    Value

    +2 Kala
    Kala Sauna Panel
    4.0
    Bon Charge Super Max
    2.0

    Warranty & Support

    +2 Kala
    Kala Sauna Panel
    4.0
    Bon Charge Super Max
    2.0

    Kala Sauna Panel: 2 Years · Bon Charge Super Max: 1 Year.

    Verification

    tied
    Kala Sauna Panel
    2.0
    Bon Charge Super Max
    2.0

    Kala Sauna Panel: Not stated · Bon Charge Super Max: Registered or listed only.

    Wavelength Spec

    tied
    Kala Sauna Panel
    7.0
    Bon Charge Super Max
    7.0

    Coverage

    tied
    Kala Sauna Panel
    6.0
    Bon Charge Super Max
    6.0

    Build Quality

    tied
    Kala Sauna Panel
    5.0
    Bon Charge Super Max
    5.0

    Ease of Use

    tied
    Kala Sauna Panel
    5.0
    Bon Charge Super Max
    5.0

    Light Output

    one side unscored
    Kala Sauna Panel
    —
    Bon Charge Super Max
    —

    What Kala Sauna Panel and Bon Charge Super Max owners report

    Independent sources, scored for each model. Sauna Panel on 5 of five, Super Max on 3.

    Reddit

    +2 Kala
    Kala Sauna Panel
    5.0
    Bon Charge Super Max
    3.0

    The Kala Sauna Panel reading covers its product line; the Bon Charge Super Max reading covers its product line.

    What they say

    Kala Sauna Panel

    • No Reddit owner names the Sauna Panel.
    • Owners of Kala's Pro and Elite panels, posting in r/redlighttherapy and r/30PlusSkinCare from 2022 to 2026 with no tie shown, call the panels well made and programmable, and report weeks-long waits, an Elite and stand marked delivered that never arrived (December 2024) and refunds that needed chasing.
    • One commenter returning a Kala panel in April 2026 said Kala admitted it had no third-party test of its irradiance figures.

    Bon Charge Super Max

    • No Reddit owner reports using the Super Max; one 2024 r/30PlusSkinCare commenter had only ordered one.
    • Of the owners of unnamed Bon Charge panels, two say the panel arrived not working and that a refund or replacement stalled (r/redlighttherapy, July 2026; r/ToBeMagneticSnark, early 2026), and one calls a large Bon Charge panel worth every penny (r/Fibromyalgia, November 2024).
    • Brand-level threads from 2024 to 2026 add complaints about store credit on discounted orders and return shipping to Australia.

    Google

    +1 Kala
    Kala Sauna Panel
    6.0
    Bon Charge Super Max
    5.0

    The Kala Sauna Panel reading covers its product line; the Bon Charge Super Max reading covers its product line.

    What they say

    Kala Sauna Panel

    • No web review of the Sauna Panel is counted; the one page reviewing it by name is a Kala affiliate site.
    • One level up, Light Therapy Insiders (Alex Fergus), a market-wide tester with a Kala affiliate link, ranked the Elite third of 17 panels on spectrometer output but 14th overall in his comparison first published in February 2024, faulting hanging wires that snapped, a short cable and gaps between the LED clusters, and Marco Gentile, a market-wide reviewer whose page carries Kala code MARCOGENTILE, rated the Elite Duo, two Elites sold as a set, 3.2 of 5 in December 2025, faulting the lack of dimming and the single-chip LEDs.

    Bon Charge Super Max

    • No hands-on review covers the Super Max; the Max shares its design and LEDs. mindbodygreen (December 2025), sent the Max free by Bon Charge and publishing with its code MINDBODYGREEN, found it bright, flicker-free and light enough to move, wishing only for wheels or a stand; Wareable, a market-wide affiliate, named the Max its best overall panel in April 2026; and Light Therapy Insiders, a market-wide tester holding Bon Charge code ALEX, ranked the Max's first generation 17th of 17 for output in April 2024.

    YouTube

    +2 Kala
    Kala Sauna Panel
    6.0
    Bon Charge Super Max
    4.0

    The Kala Sauna Panel reading covers its product line; the Bon Charge Super Max reading covers its product line.

    What they say

    Kala Sauna Panel

    • No video shows the Sauna Panel.
    • One level up, Red Light Therapy by Alex Fergus, a market-wide channel whose description carries Kala's affiliate link, tested the Elite in July 2024 (7,006 views), reading 84.2 mW/cm2 average at 6 inches against Kala's claimed 161, and called it decent but said better options exist, faulting hanging cables that snapped during setup and a confusing side control panel.

    Bon Charge Super Max

    • No video shows the Super Max in use outside Bon Charge's own channel.
    • Light Therapy Insiders (Alex Fergus), a market-wide tester whose description carries Bon Charge code ALEX, reviewed the first-generation Max, then sold as the BLUblox Hive Max, in January 2022 after a period of use: he liked the price, the light weight, the dual-chip LEDs and the simple controls, objected to the 1-year warranty, a missing printed manual, a 60 dB fan and low output for the money, and said he would not recommend it.

    Amazon

    one side unscored
    Kala Sauna Panel
    9.0
    Bon Charge Super Max
    —

    The Kala Sauna Panel reading covers its product line; no usable source for the Bon Charge Super Max.

    What they say

    Kala Sauna Panel

    • Amazon US shows no listing for the Sauna Panel, so this reading is the Pro's file.
    • Amazon US lists the Pro (B0CKTV1YF1) in Kala Therapy Inc.'s store, sold by DEZ National at $688.99, with 4.6 stars from 38 ratings: 86 percent five-star, 4 percent four-star, none three-star, 4 percent two-star and 6 percent one-star.
    • The file is the Pro's own, shared with no other model; its review text and any Vine share sit behind Amazon's sign-in.

    Bon Charge Super Max

    No usable source.

    Owner reviews

    one side unscored
    Kala Sauna Panel
    8.0
    Bon Charge Super Max
    —

    The Kala Sauna Panel reading covers its product line; no usable source for the Bon Charge Super Max.

    What they say

    Kala Sauna Panel

    • No US retailer sells the Sauna Panel.
    • One level up, Costco.com's Elite listing (item 2062084) has 3.9 stars from 11 native member reviews posted July to September 2026, with no syndication or incentive badge: owners praised the price against similar panels and Kala's phone support, and complained of no stand, a flimsy over-door hanger, a remote with no battery, poor instructions and a chemical smell on opening.

    Bon Charge Super Max

    No usable source.

    Kala Sauna Panel vs Bon Charge Super Max: pros and cons

    What each one does well, and where it falls short.

    Kala Sauna Panel

    What we like

    • Aluminium housing rated IP65
    • Peaks published at 660 and 850 nm
    • Remote and timer included
    • Door hook included
    • 2-year warranty

    What holds it back

    • No independent output measurement
    • No safety listing in Intertek's or UL's directories
    • No FDA recorddespite an FDA Cleared badge on the page
    • 1,600 W is an LED ratingnot a measured draw
    • Designed for Kala's own saunaswhich are sold out

    Bon Charge Super Max

    What we like

    • Peaks published at 660 and 850 nm
    • 419 square inch facethe largest of the three
    • Door mountcables and pulley included
    • 5 to 30 minute timerred, near-infrared or both
    • Goggles included

    What holds it back

    • No independent output measurement
    • No safety listing in Intertek's or UL's directories
    • 1-year warrantyclaimed by shipping the panel to Australia at the buyer's cost
    • Page gives 35.5 inches for a 91 cm panel
    • About the same height as the Max despite the full-body label
    • 1,500 W is an LED ratingnot a measured draw

    Kala Sauna Panel vs Bon Charge Super Max: the numbers

    Price, scores and rank, then only the specs that differ. Green marks the side with more.

    Kala Sauna Panel

    KALASAUNAPANEL

    Kala Sauna Panel

    $1,250

    Buy Now
    5.6
    Overall
    Usability4.6
    Social6.8

    36th of 43 in RLT Panels

    2.7
    Overall
    Usability4.0
    Social4.0

    43rd of 43 in RLT Panels

    • Claimed irradiance
      Kala100-149 mW/cm2
      Bon Charge150 mW/cm2 or more
    • FDA status
      KalaNot listed
      Bon ChargeRegistered or listed only
    • Session length
      Kala11-20 min
      Bon ChargeNot listed
    • Warranty
      Kala More2 Years
      Bon Charge1 Year
    • Dimensions
      Kala39.4 x 9.8 x 1 in
      Bon Charge35.5 x 11.8 x 2.56 in
    • Weight
      Kala16.8 lb
      Bon Charge31 lb

    Same on both

    • PanelDevice type
    • Near-infrared (800-880 nm), Red (620-680 nm)Wavelength bands
    • Not measuredMeasured irradiance
    • None verifiableSafety listings
    • MainsPower

    We earn a commission if you buy through these links. It never changes a score.

    Not sold on either one?

    The top-scored and the cheapest other pick from each brand.

    More from Kala 3 scored in Red Light Therapy Panels

    Kala Red Light Elite Panel
    Top scoredKala Elite Panel$1,140$110 less
    7.7
    What’s different
    • FDA status: Registered or listed only, not Not stated
    • Safety listings: adds ETL listed
    Pick it ifVerification matters5vs2
    Kala Red Light Pro Panel
    Lowest priceKala Pro Panel$590$660 less
    6.4
    What’s different
    • FDA status: Registered or listed only, not Not stated
    • Safety listings: adds ETL listed
    Pick it ifVerification matters5vs2

    More from Bon Charge 2 scored in Red Light Therapy Panels

    Bon Charge Max Red Light Therapy Panel
    Top scoredBon Charge Max$999$600 less
    3.4
    What’s different
    • Nothing we record differs.
    Pick it ifValue matters3vs2
    Bon Charge Demi Red Light Therapy Panel
    Lowest priceBon Charge Demi$699$900 less
    3.0
    What’s different
    • Session length: 11-20 min, not Not published
    Pick it ifValue matters3vs2

    Kala Sauna Panel vs Bon Charge Super Max: common questions

    Is the Kala Sauna Panel better than the Bon Charge Super Max?

    On our scores, the Kala Sauna Panel is ahead, 5.6 against 2.7. The Kala Sauna Panel leads on value (4 against 2) and warranty & support (4 against 2).

    Which is cheaper, the Kala Sauna Panel or the Bon Charge Super Max?

    The Kala Sauna Panel, at $1,250 against $1,599: $349 less.

    Which has the longer warranty, the Kala Sauna Panel or the Bon Charge Super Max?

    The Kala Sauna Panel: 2 Years, against 1 Year.

    What do owners say about the Kala Sauna Panel and the Bon Charge Super Max?

    Across 3 independent sources scored for both, the Kala Sauna Panel is ahead on Reddit, Google and YouTube.

    More red light therapy panels comparisons

    More head-to-heads with these two.

    Scores calculated 8 October 2026 · Products excluded where fewer than two independent sources cover them ·  · How we score

    Stuff VS Things
    Logo
    Compare items
    • Total (0)
    Versus
    2
    Shopping cart