Cannondale scores 5.3 across 11 products; Trek scores 5.5 across 12. They overlap in electric bikes. That is 100% of what Cannondale sells and 100% of what Trek sells. Cannondale leads on motor, Trek on features.
Cannondale top-scored: Tesoro X 1 Commuter Electric Bike
750 Wh Bosch PowerTube on the commuter ladder
Range: up to 109 miles claimed on the page (105 miles in the highlights), basis not stated
Option: frame ready for a second battery
Trek top-scored: Charter+ 4S Electric City Bike
540 Wh Bosch battery on the commuter ladder
Range: up to 45 mi claimed by Trek
Same score
VerificationCannondale: 4Trek: 4
Cannondale top-scored: Tesoro X 1 Commuter Electric Bike
Bosch drive-system UL 2849 listing (Intertek) names no bike; no record names the Tesoro X 1
Searched: Intertek Certipedia UL SGS TÜV SÜD CPSC Health Canada
Record: Intertek ETL, ANSI/CAN/UL-2849 (Electrical Systems for eBikes), drive system, none: Bosch eBike system lines (Active Line, Active Line Plus, Cargo Line, Performance Line, Performance Line Speed, Performance Line CX, Performance Line Sport, Performance Line SX, Performance Line Sprint, ...); no bike named, ROBERT BOSCH LLC - Foothill Ranch, CA
Record: Intertek ETL, ANSI/CAN/UL/ULC-2271 (ETL Recognized, component), Lithium-ion Batteries for eBike, Bosch part nos. 0 275 007 5xx / EB12100xxx (no bike named; pack part number on the row not read), ROBERT BOSCH LLC - Foothill Ranch, CA
Trek top-scored: Charter+ 4S Electric City Bike
ACT Lab UL 2849 test certificate names Charter+ 4S SO; no NRTL listing
Searched: ACT Lab compliance directory (not an NRTL) Intertek Certipedia UL SGS TÜV SÜD CPSC Health Canada
Record: ACT Lab compliance directory (not an NRTL), ANSI/CAN/UL 2849 (sample test), Charter +4S SO, TREK Bicycle Corporation
Record: Intertek ETL, ANSI/CAN/UL 2849 (drive system), Bosch eBike system: Active Line, Active Line Plus, Cargo Line, Performance Line, Performance Line CX / CARGO, Performance Line Sport, ... (no bike model named), ROBERT BOSCH LLC - Foothill Ranch, CA
Warranty & SupportCannondale: 5Trek: 5
Cannondale top-scored: Tesoro X 1 Commuter Electric Bike
two years from Bosch on drive unit and battery
Trek top-scored: Charter+ 4S Electric City Bike
two years or 500 cycles on the Bosch motor and battery
Scored for one brand only
WeightCannondale: —not scoredTrek: 7.5
Cannondale top-scored: Tesoro X 1 Commuter Electric Bike
No notes for this one.
Trek top-scored: Charter+ 4S Electric City Bike
67.58 lb (30.65 kg), size medium
Social score about Cannondale and Trek
Independent sources pooled per brand. N of M = how many scored products carry the brand-level reading shown, out of all scored.
CannondaleTrek
RedditCannondale: 4Trek: 5 (higher)
Cannondale
Read the full summary
R/eMountainBike: Moterra SL owners report E914 shutdowns and battery-to-motor wiring faults, fixed by drive swaps under warranty (Oct 2025 to Sep 2026)
r/cannondale, an unofficial 12K-member subreddit not linked by the store, shows mostly non-electric bikes (Oct 2026)
Brand rollup across scored products. 10 of 11 scored products carry this reading.
Trek
Read the full summary
R/ebikes: a Trek Super Commuter+ 8S owner logged 20,000 miles on his second motor (Jul 2026)
r/ebikes: a commenter weighing an FX+ 7S said mainstream bike-shop brands age better and have the best parts availability for commuting (Apr 2026)
r/CargoBike: Fetch+ owners split between hub and spoke repairs and praise for local Trek dealer fixes (Mar 2026)
Brand rollup across scored products. 7 of 12 scored products carry this reading.
Same score
GoogleCannondale: 7Trek: 7
Cannondale
Read the full summary
Blister praised the Moterra 3's range and alloy build but found it heavy on slow ledges (Mar 2026) Unit source not stated|The Loam Wolf found the Moterra LT1 plush but heavy at 57.2 lb (May 2026)|Freshly Charged called the FlyingV the most refined e-bike it has ridden (Apr 2026)
Brand rollup across scored products. 3 of 11 scored products carry this reading.
Trek
Read the full summary
OutdoorGearLab (bought units) ranked the Charter+ 4S 10th of 19 with 80 points and the FX+ 7S 18th of 19 with 65 points, praising ride quality and quiet motors and marking down range and power (2025-2026)|Pinkbike and ENDURO called the Fuel+ EX a natural, balanced trail eMTB with modest power (Mar and Sep 2026)
Brand rollup across scored products. 3 of 12 scored products carry this reading.
The scores above are our reading of the evidence below. This is the evidence.
Safety listings are recorded per product from the certifier's own directory, by model, not from the maker's wording. Most of the listings in this category can be checked in TÜV Rheinland's Certipedia.
Warranty terms
Cannondale
11of 11
2 Years11
Trek
12of 12
2 Years12
Best Cannondale vs best Trek, category by category
The three best-scoring products each brand sells in every category they both compete in, ranked by overall score.
Cannondale 5.3 from 11 scored products; Trek 5.5 from 12. Too close to call overall: Trek has the edge by 0.17, which is inside the margin, so the difference is in the criteria.
What is the biggest difference between Cannondale and Trek?
Motor: Cannondale medians 5.0, Trek medians 3.0 (Cannondale by 2.0).
Which is better for ride hardware, Cannondale or Trek?
Cannondale on ride hardware — Cannondale 9.0, Trek 7.0.
Which is better for features, Cannondale or Trek?
Trek on features — Cannondale 4.0, Trek 5.0.
Which Cannondale and Trek electric bikes should I buy?
Cannondale: Cannondale Tesoro X 1 Commuter Electric Bike. Trek: Trek Charter+ 4S Electric City Bike.
How does Stuff VS Things score Cannondale and Trek?
Our own product medians: 11 Cannondale and 12 Trek. A criterion is compared only where both brands clear the floor.
Scores calculated 29 October 2026 · Products excluded where fewer than two independent sources cover them · Researched and edited by Michael Ambrose · Unbroken Ads LLC · How we score