Brand comparison

Aventon vs Cannondale

Aventon scores 6.6 across 12 products; Cannondale scores 5.3 across 11. They overlap in electric bikes. That is 100% of what Aventon sells and 100% of what Cannondale sells. Aventon leads on features, Cannondale on ride hardware.

All 12 Aventon products
Aventon Level 4 REC Commuter Electric Bike

Aventon

12 of 12 products scored · $1,199 – $5,999

Buy Now
  • Features — 8.0 against 4.0
6.6
vs
5.3
All 11 Cannondale products
Cannondale Tesoro X 1 Commuter Electric Bike

Cannondale

11 of 11 products scored · $2,499 – $8,499

Buy Now
  • Ride Hardware — 9.0 against 7.5

Across everything we scored, Aventon sits 1.30 ahead — led by features.

Brand verdict

ahead · +1.30 (6.6 vs 5.3)

Pick Aventon when

Features matters most8.0vs4.0

Pick Cannondale when

Ride hardware matters most9.0vs7.5

Scored 29 October 2026 from published specs and owner reviews. We don't buy or test units. How we score

Usability Aventon and Cannondale, median scores 0 to 10

Median scores on a 0–10 scale.

  • FeaturesAventon: 8 (higher)Cannondale: 4

    Aventon top-scored: Level 4 REC Commuter Electric Bike

    • removable battery, lights, colour display, GPS, throttle, rack and fenders, IPX5

    Cannondale top-scored: Tesoro X 1 Commuter Electric Bike

    • removable battery, lights, rack and fenders, Kiox colour display, Bosch app lock
  • BatteryAventon: 5 (higher)Cannondale: 3

    Aventon top-scored: Level 4 REC Commuter Electric Bike

    • 733 Wh (36 V, 20 Ah) on the commuter ladder

    Cannondale top-scored: Tesoro X 1 Commuter Electric Bike

    • 750 Wh Bosch PowerTube on the commuter ladder
    • Range: up to 109 miles claimed on the page (105 miles in the highlights), basis not stated
    • Option: frame ready for a second battery
  • VerificationAventon: 6 (higher)Cannondale: 4

    Aventon top-scored: Level 4 REC Commuter Electric Bike

    • UL 2849 certificate UL-US-2557601-3 names Level 4 REC (UL file QGNS.E541149)
    • Searched: UL Certipedia Intertek TÜV SÜD SGS CPSC Health Canada
    • Record: UL Product iQ, ANSI/CAN/UL 2849:2022A (QGNS), LEVEL, Level, Level 4 REC, Pace 5 REC, RIDE AVENTON INC

    Cannondale top-scored: Tesoro X 1 Commuter Electric Bike

    • Bosch drive-system UL 2849 listing (Intertek) names no bike; no record names the Tesoro X 1
    • Searched: Intertek Certipedia UL SGS TÜV SÜD CPSC Health Canada
    • Record: Intertek ETL, ANSI/CAN/UL-2849 (Electrical Systems for eBikes), drive system, none: Bosch eBike system lines (Active Line, Active Line Plus, Cargo Line, Performance Line, Performance Line Speed, Performance Line CX, Performance Line Sport, Performance Line SX, Performance Line Sprint, ...); no bike named, ROBERT BOSCH LLC - Foothill Ranch, CA
    • Record: Intertek ETL, ANSI/CAN/UL/ULC-2271 (ETL Recognized, component), Lithium-ion Batteries for eBike, Bosch part nos. 0 275 007 5xx / EB12100xxx (no bike named; pack part number on the row not read), ROBERT BOSCH LLC - Foothill Ranch, CA
  • Ride HardwareAventon: 7.5Cannondale: 9 (higher)

    Aventon top-scored: Level 4 REC Commuter Electric Bike

    • hydraulic discs, 180 mm rotors, 80 mm coil fork, switchable torque sensor

    Cannondale top-scored: Tesoro X 1 Commuter Electric Bike

    • 4-piston hydraulic discs, 203 mm rotors, 100 mm coil fork, torque sensor

Same score

  • MotorAventon: 5Cannondale: 5

    Aventon top-scored: Level 4 REC Commuter Electric Bike

    • 80 Nm rear hub, 750 W nominal
    • Peak: 1,188 W, 1,440 W in Boost claimed, not scored

    Cannondale top-scored: Tesoro X 1 Commuter Electric Bike

    • Bosch Performance Line Speed, 85 Nm
  • Warranty & SupportAventon: 5Cannondale: 5

    Aventon top-scored: Level 4 REC Commuter Electric Bike

    • two years on battery and motor, not prorated
    • Battery: two years or 300 charge cycles, whichever comes first
    • Frame: two years, lifetime if registered within 90 days, not scored

    Cannondale top-scored: Tesoro X 1 Commuter Electric Bike

    • two years from Bosch on drive unit and battery

Scored for one brand only

  • WeightAventon: 5.5Cannondale: not scored

    Aventon top-scored: Level 4 REC Commuter Electric Bike

    • 68.5 lb, maker figure
    • Measured: 70.3 lb by OutdoorGearLab

    Cannondale top-scored: Tesoro X 1 Commuter Electric Bike

    No notes for this one.

Social score about Aventon and Cannondale

Independent sources pooled per brand. N of M = how many scored products carry the brand-level reading shown, out of all scored.

  • RedditAventon: 5.5 (higher)Cannondale: 4

    Aventon

    Read the full summary
    • R/Aventon and r/ebikes owners praise the value, features and security tech of current models (2025-2026)|r/Aventon threads report slow support on warranty claims and delivery defects (Aug 2026)

    Brand rollup across scored products. 6 of 12 scored products carry this reading.

    Cannondale

    Read the full summary
    • R/eMountainBike: Moterra SL owners report E914 shutdowns and battery-to-motor wiring faults, fixed by drive swaps under warranty (Oct 2025 to Sep 2026)
    • r/cannondale, an unofficial 12K-member subreddit not linked by the store, shows mostly non-electric bikes (Oct 2026)

    Brand rollup across scored products. 10 of 11 scored products carry this reading.

  • GoogleAventon: 8 (higher)Cannondale: 7

    Aventon

    Read the full summary
    • OutdoorGearLab (bought units) tested nine current Aventon e-bikes with scores from 73 to 91 out of 100 and four Editors’ Choice awards (Jan 2025 to Jul 2026)

    Brand rollup across scored products. 1 of 12 scored products carry this reading.

    Cannondale

    Read the full summary
    • Blister praised the Moterra 3's range and alloy build but found it heavy on slow ledges (Mar 2026) Unit source not stated|The Loam Wolf found the Moterra LT1 plush but heavy at 57.2 lb (May 2026)|Freshly Charged called the FlyingV the most refined e-bike it has ridden (Apr 2026)

    Brand rollup across scored products. 3 of 11 scored products carry this reading.

Not enough data for either brand

  • YouTubeAventon: not scoredCannondale: not scored
  • AmazonAventon: not scoredCannondale: not scored
  • Owner reviewsAventon: not scoredCannondale: not scored

The scores above are our reading of the evidence below. This is the evidence.

Safety listings are recorded per product from the certifier's own directory, by model, not from the maker's wording. Most of the listings in this category can be checked in TÜV Rheinland's Certipedia.

Warranty terms

Aventon

12 of 12

  • 2 Years 12

Cannondale

11 of 11

  • 2 Years 11

Best Aventon vs best Cannondale, category by category

The three best-scoring products each brand sells in every category they both compete in, ranked by overall score.

Aventon6.6
12 products
Cannondale5.3
11 products
Aventon leads
6.8
Overall
Usability6.0
Social7.5

5th of 276 in E-Bikes

Strengths
  • Comfortablesporty ride
  • Strong hill-climbing power
  • Rack, fenderslights and throttle come fitted
  • GPS tracking and an app lock deter theft
Drawbacks
  • Heavy for a commuter
  • Charge port sits in an awkward spot
  • Regen braking cut out when the motor ran hot
5.9
Overall
Usability6.3
Social5.5

74th of 276 in E-Bikes

Strengths
  • Long range from a big battery
  • Four-piston brakes with big rotors
  • Suspension fork and seatpost
  • Lights and rack come fitted
Drawbacks
  • Weight not published
  • Older motor generation
  • Tires not tubeless
  • Step-through version costs more
6.7
Overall
Usability6.4
Social7.0

9th of 276 in E-Bikes

Strengths
  • Short wheelbase handles like a regular bike
  • Fully equipped with rackfenders and guards
  • GPS tracking and an app lock deter theft
  • Comfortable over rough pavement
Drawbacks
  • Too heavy for most car racks
  • Room for only one passenger
  • Tested range trails its longer sibling
5.7
Overall
Usability5.9
Social5.5

98th of 276 in E-Bikes

Strengths
  • Plush long-travel suspension
  • Powerful brakes with large rotors
  • Big battery for all-day rides
  • Strong full-power motor
Drawbacks
  • Testers found it heavy on the trail
  • Premium price
  • No lights or rack fitted
  • Weight not published
6.7
Overall
Usability6.4
Social7.0

10th of 276 in E-Bikes

Strengths
  • Full trail-grade suspension front and rear
  • Powerfulnatural climbing assist
  • Long tested trail range
  • GPS tracking and alarm on a trail bike
Drawbacks
  • Heavier than the carbon version
  • No lights fitted
  • Stock tire casing may wear quickly
5.6
Overall
Usability5.6
Social5.5

111th of 276 in E-Bikes

Strengths
  • Big battery for all-day rides
  • Strong full-power motor
  • Four-piston brakes with big rotors
  • Air fork and rear shock
Drawbacks
  • Tires ship with tubes
  • Weight not published
  • No lights or rack fitted
  • Sold through dealers only

Aventon vs Cannondale: the numbers

6.6
Overall
Usability6.2
Social7.0
Products scored12 of 12
Price range$1,199 – $5,999
5.3
Overall
Usability5.1
Social5.5
Products scored11 of 11
Price range$2,499 – $8,499

Aventon vs Cannondale: common questions

Is Aventon or Cannondale better?

Aventon 6.6 from 12 scored products; Cannondale 5.3 from 11.

What is the biggest difference between Aventon and Cannondale?

Features: Aventon medians 8.0, Cannondale medians 4.0 (Aventon by 4.0).

Which is better for battery, Aventon or Cannondale?

Aventon on battery — Aventon 5.0, Cannondale 3.0.

Which is better for verification, Aventon or Cannondale?

Aventon on verification — Aventon 6.0, Cannondale 4.0.

Which Aventon and Cannondale electric bikes should I buy?

Aventon: Aventon Level 4 REC Commuter Electric Bike. Cannondale: Cannondale Tesoro X 1 Commuter Electric Bike.

How does Stuff VS Things score Aventon and Cannondale?

Our own product medians: 12 Aventon and 11 Cannondale. A criterion is compared only where both brands clear the floor.

Other comparisons

Scores calculated 29 October 2026 · Products excluded where fewer than two independent sources cover them ·  · How we score

Stuff VS Things
Logo
Compare items
  • Total (0)
Versus
0
Shopping cart