Priority Current Plus Commuter Electric Bike

  • Class 2
  • 601-800 Wh
  • 61-80 mi claimed
  • 21-28 mph

SVT Score, Upper

Versus
5.3
SVT SCORESRead review

A belt-drive mid-drive commuter with a 140 Nm torque-sensing motor, a 720 Wh battery, a 5-speed internal hub and a throttle.

$3,299

We may earn a commission if you buy through this link. It never affects our scores. How this works

SKU: 1220203 Category: Brand:

Usability

5.3 out of 10
  • Speed: ships at 20 mph; rider can raise pedal assist to 28 mph
  • Option: Enviolo CVT build $3,599.00

Strengths

  • Strong mid-drive motor flattens hills
  • Long range for daily commutes
  • Torque sensor gives a natural pedal feel
  • Automatic lights and fenders fitted
  • Belt and internal hub need almost no upkeep

Drawbacks

  • No rear rack included
  • No suspension on rough roads
  • Cheap-feeling throttle
  • Cable clutter at the handlebar
  • Maximum load not printed on the product page
Verdict

A powerful low-upkeep commuter for hilly cities, but no rack or suspension

Social score

6.5 out of 10
RedditProduct-line6 out of 10

r/ebikes: an owner of the original Current praised Priority's service at 1,000 miles, then reported assist power fading by 2,800 miles that a replacement motor did not fix (May 2024)

Google7 out of 10
Liked
  • punchy motor
  • long range
  • smooth brakes
Complaints
  • cheap-feeling throttle
  • cable clutter
  • no suspension
Read the full summary

WIRED (Ryan Waniata; unit source not stated) rated it 8/10 for its punchy motor, range and brakes; at 55 lb it felt sluggish unassisted and rough without suspension (May 2025)|T3 (Mark Knapp; unit source not stated) estimated about 66 miles at low assist; disliked the throttle feel and cable clutter (Jun 2025)|Consumer Reports bought and lab-tested it; its scores sit behind membership (Oct 2026)

YouTubeNot scored

The YouTube pool is blank: the videos found come from Electrek, repeating its written reviews, from Electric Bike Report, which takes manufacturer testing fees, and from Ryan Van Duzer, who co-designs Priority bikes (October 2026).

AmazonNot scored

The Amazon pool is blank: the Amazon search turned up no Priority e-bike sold by the brand or its own store (October 2026).

User reviewsNot scored

No major US retailer sells Priority e-bikes as the seller; they are sold through the brand's own store (October 2026).

Trustpilot

Trustpilot shows 4.8 from 8,576 reviews, 92% five-star and under 1% one-star, on a claimed page that invites reviews (September 2026).

Track record
  • A BBB directory search for Priority Bicycles in New York returned no business profile (October 2026).
  • CPSC and Health Canada searches turned up no recall of a Priority e-bike or battery (October 2026).
Not countedExcluded
  • Not counted in any pool: the ratings on the brand's own site.
  • The retailer pool is blank: none of Walmart, Best Buy, Target, Costco, REI, Home Depot or Lowe's lists the Priority Current Plus (October 2026).

Specs

  • TypeCommuter
  • E-Bike ClassClass 2
  • Battery601-800 Wh
  • MotorMid-drive
  • Top Speed21-28 mph
  • Claimed Range61-80 mi
  • Weight41-55 lb
  • BrakesHydraulic disc
  • SuspensionNone
  • FoldingDoes not fold
  • CertificationsNone verifiable
  • Warranty2 Years

Not published by Priority: max rider load.

At a glance

  • Shimano Inter-5 hub
  • 600-lumen front lamp
  • Three frame sizes
  • Height-adjustable stem

The brand was founded in New York in 2014 and keeps a showroom in Tribeca by appointment.

  • Priority Bicycles sells its e-bikes in the US through its own store at prioritybicycles.com.
  • The store's terms name Priority Outdoor Products, LLC, of 174 Hudson Street in New York, as its operator.
  • Its electric range of belt-drive cruisers and commuters ships from a Pennsylvania warehouse to the contiguous US only.

The Priority Current Plus is a mid-step commuter e-bike with a 720 Wh removable battery (48 V) and a 500 W torque-sensing mid-drive motor rated at 140 Nm of maximum torque. It has dual-piston hydraulic disc brakes with 180 mm rotors and motor cut-off, a rigid aluminum fork and puncture-resistant 650b x 50 mm tires.

The entry build pairs a Gates CDX belt with a Shimano Inter-5 internal hub; the Enviolo CVT build sells for $3,599.00 and weighs 56.5 lb. It ships at 20 mph on assist and throttle, and the rider can raise pedal assist to 28 mph.

The Shimano build weighs 55 lb with battery, pedals and fenders; Priority does not print a maximum load on the page. Composite fenders, automatic lights with a 600-lumen front lamp and a thumb throttle come fitted; a rack is not included. Priority claims 20 to 75 miles of range.

A spare 720 Wh battery lists at $799.00 and is sold out.

Questions answered from our data

All questions we answer

Stuff VS Things
Logo
Compare items
  • Total (0)
Versus
0
Shopping cart