Mokwheel Basalt 2.0 Fat Tire Electric Bike

  • Class 3
  • 801-1,000 Wh
  • 61-80 mi claimed
  • Over 400 lb max load

SVT Score, Upper

Versus
6.1
SVT SCORESRead review

A fat-tire e-bike with a 940 Wh battery, a 90 Nm hub motor, puncture-resistant tires and turn signals.

$1,700

We may earn a commission if you buy through this link. It never affects our scores. How this works

SKU: MMG5ZCBA22DB Category: Brand:

Usability

6.1 out of 10
  • Peak: 1,100 W, not scored
  • Speed: 20 mph throttle, 28 mph assist
  • Rotors: 180 mm per Electric Bike Report (manufacturer-paid test, Sep 2025); not printed by the maker
  • Fork: coil spring per ElectricBikeReview.com (manufacturer-paid)
  • Rack: Basalt 2.0 rear rack sold separately ($79.99)
  • Searched: UL Certipedia Intertek SGS TÜV SÜD CPSC Health Canada
  • Record: UL Product iQ, ANSI/CAN/UL 2849 (QGNS, Electrical Systems for E-Bikes), BASALT; BASALT-ST; Basalt EVO ST (no 'Basalt 2.0'), Xuanquan Smart Link
Better on verificationAventon Aventure M Fat Tire EbikeUL certifies this model to UL 2849 under certificate UL-US-2576762-2. $2,899Scores 6.0
  • Option: Jungle Camo colour $1,799.99
  • Pack: Basic Accessory Pack $355.00
  • Kit: inverter $599.99

Strengths

  • Turn signals and a colour display
  • Puncture-resistant fat tires
  • Strong climbing power
  • Smooth torque-sensor assist
  • Battery doubles as a power source with the inverter

Drawbacks

  • Very heavy to lift
  • No rear suspension
  • Rack sold separately
  • Owners report controller trouble
  • Speed class not printed by the maker
Verdict

A strong all-terrain fat bike with big range, but very heavy

Social score

6.0 out of 10
RedditProduct-line5 out of 10
  • r/ebikes: an owner of a Basalt (generation not stated) reports a broken battery-lock hinge and a controller that died in light rain (Oct 2025)
  • r/ebikes: another rider logged 11,000 miles in 18 months on a Basalt (Nov 2025)
GoogleNot scored
YouTube7 out of 10
Liked
  • power
  • range
  • all-terrain tires
Read the full summary

YouTube review of the step-through Basalt ST 2.0 (how the bike was obtained is not stated in the listing) presents it as a strong, long-range all-terrain bike for hunters (Mar 2026)

AmazonNot scored

The Amazon pool is blank: MOKWHEEL-branded e-bike listings appear in Amazon search, but no listing could be read with its model, seller and review count (October 2026).

User reviewsNot scored

The retailer pool is blank: none of Walmart, Best Buy, Target, Costco, REI, Home Depot and Lowe's sells Mokwheel e-bikes, so no retailer review feed exists for this model; Dick's Sporting Goods' site was unavailable when read (October 2026).

Reviews

Trustpilot shows a 4.5 TrustScore from 569 reviews, 75% of them five-star and 11% one-star, on a claimed page that invites customers to review (July 2026).

Track record
  • The BBB rates the business F, not accredited, with 32 complaints in the last three years (October 2026).
  • A search of CPSC and Health Canada recall listings found no recall of a Mokwheel e-bike or battery (October 2026).
  • In June 2025 Mokwheel posted its own recall notice, not a CPSC recall, offering free replacement of some first-generation Scoria and Basalt ST batteries built before their UL certification was final.
Not countedExcluded
  • Not counted in any pool: Mokwheel's own store reviews, its YouTube channel and Facebook pages, its reward and referral programs, and creators who post Mokwheel discount codes.
  • The forum and editorial pool is blank at brand level: the brand-wide test pages found are manufacturer-paid, and the independent pages found each review one model (October 2026).

Specs

  • TypeFat Tire
  • E-Bike ClassClass 3
  • Battery801-1,000 Wh
  • MotorHub
  • Top Speed21-28 mph
  • Claimed Range61-80 mi
  • Weight71-85 lb
  • Max Rider LoadOver 400 lb
  • BrakesHydraulic disc
  • SuspensionFront
  • FoldingDoes not fold
  • CertificationsClaimed only
  • Warranty2 Years

At a glance

  • Shimano 8-speed
  • 52T chainring
  • Two step-through frame sizes
  • The terms of service on mokwheel.com name Accel Power Technology (Shenzhen) Co., Ltd. of Shenzhen, China as the company information for the store.
  • The US MOKWHEEL trademark for electric bicycles is registered to Xuanquan Smart Link (Shenzhen) Technology Co., Ltd. The BBB lists the Huntington Beach business as Mokwheel, a corporation also known as Mokwheel Bikes Inc. Mokwheel sells its commuter, fat-tire, folding and trike models through its own online store, the flagship store and US dealers.
  • Mokwheel e-bikes are sold in the US from a flagship store at 16400 Pacific Coast Hwy in Huntington Beach, California.
  • MOKWHEEL-branded e-bikes are also listed for sale on Amazon by sellers not identified here.
  • None of Walmart, Best Buy, Target, Costco, REI, Home Depot or Lowe's sells Mokwheel e-bikes (October 2026).

The Mokwheel Basalt 2.0 is a step-over fat-tire e-bike with a 48 V, 19.6 Ah battery of 940 Wh and a 750 W rear hub motor rated 90 Nm+ (1,100 W peak), with a torque and cadence sensor and a thumb throttle. Throttle runs to 20 mph and pedal assist to 28 mph.

It has Tektro hydraulic disc brakes, a 110 mm adjustable coil fork, 26 x 4.0 in puncture-resistant tires and a Shimano 8-speed drivetrain. It weighs 80 lb and is rated for 450 lb. A detachable colour display shows headlight and turn-signal status, and a hook-type taillight is new on the 2.0.

The maker claims 60 to 80 miles of range and rates the bike IPX6 and the battery IPX7. The step-through Basalt ST 2.0 sells for $1,799.99 in Standard and Large frames. The Jungle Camo colour costs $1,799.99.

A Mokwheel inverter that turns the battery into an AC power source sells for $599.99, and the Basic Accessory Pack $355.00.

Questions answered from our data

All questions we answer

Stuff VS Things
Logo
Compare items
  • Total (0)
Versus
0
Shopping cart