Brompton Electric C Line Folding Electric Bike

  • Class 1
  • Up to 400 Wh
  • 41-60 mi claimed
  • Up to 250 lb max load

SVT Score, Mid

Versus
3.6
SVT SCORESRead review

A steel folding e-bike with a removable 345 Wh battery, a 24 Nm rear hub motor and a fitted rack, light to carry but with rim brakes.

$4,700

We may earn a commission if you buy through this link. It never affects our scores. How this works

SKU: BROMPTON-ELECTRIC-C-LINE Category: Brand:

Usability

3.6 out of 10
  • Speed: Brompton prints no US assist limit for this line; a WIRED test of the US T Line found 15.5 mph
Better on motorTern Vektron P10Bosch Performance Line mid-drive is rated 65 Nm of torque. $3,699Scores 4.0
  • Tires: Schwalbe Marathon Racer, puncture protection not stated by Brompton, not counted
Better on ride hardwareTern Vektron P10Hydraulic brakes. $3,699Scores 6.0
  • Lights: Lezyne e115 front light printed; a rear light is not stated
Better on featuresBrompton Electric G Line folding e-bikeA removable battery. $4,950Scores 6.0
  • Searched: ACT Lab compliance directory (non-NRTL) Certipedia Intertek UL SGS TÜV SÜD CPSC Health Canada
  • Record: ACT Lab compliance directory (non-NRTL), ANSI/CAN/UL 2849:2022 (sample test, e-Val certificate), Electric C-Line - e Motiq system (directory label; certificate PDF text not machine-readable), Brompton Bicycle
  • Record: ACT Lab compliance directory (non-NRTL), ANSI/CAN/UL 2849:2022 (sample test), Electric C-Line (2024-08-07; earlier build: Greenway DZ-ZZ1481002 345.6 Wh pack, motor not disassembled), Brompton Bicycle
  • Frame: seven years with registration, not scored
  • Gift: rack bag, pouch, phone mount and bottle added at the time of reading

Strengths

  • Battery lifts out to charge indoors
  • Rack and fenders come fitted
  • Smooth natural pedal assist
  • Rolls on its rack wheels when folded
  • Folds small for trains and tight closets

Drawbacks

  • Rim brakes instead of discs
  • Narrow tires feel harsh on broken pavement
  • Expensive for a small battery
  • Only four gears for steep hills
  • Assist tops out below the usual US class speed
Verdict

A light, compact commuter folder, but the assist and brakes are basic

Social score

6.7 out of 10
Reddit7 out of 10
Liked
  • comfort
  • motor strength
  • display
Complaints
  • phone app
Read the full summary
  • r/Brompton: a new e-Motiq C Line owner calls it more comfortable than expected with a surprisingly strong motor, about half the battery used in 25 km (Nov 2025)
  • r/Brompton: a February 2026 buyer thread rates the e-Motiq display and rear motor above the older 12-speed but finds the iOS app weak (Feb 2026)
Google7 out of 10
Liked
  • handling
  • rides well unassisted
  • easy fold
Read the full summary

eBikes International (test bike from the Canadian distributor, stated) rode 75 km on pavement and gravel and found it intuitive and easy to ride with assist off (Oct 2026)|Which? lists the C Line SuperRoll+ e-Motiq as tested in April 2026; its verdict is behind a paywall (Apr 2026)

YouTubeBrand-level6 out of 10

Ebike Escape (affiliate discount links in the description, stated) called the earlier front-hub Electric C Line the best compact folding e-bike it had ridden (Dec 2024)

AmazonNot scored

The Amazon pool is blank: the search of Amazon US turned up no listing of Brompton's e-bikes sold by Brompton itself (October 2026).

User reviewsNot scored

The retailer pool is blank: REI's listing for the Brompton Electric C Line shows 0 reviews, under the ten needed (October 2026).

Trustpilot

Trustpilot shows 4.3 from 6,307 reviews of brompton.com, 73% five-star and 9% one-star, on a claimed page that invites reviews (September 2026).

Track record
  • BBB rates Brompton Bicycle, Inc. of Brooklyn, New York F and not accredited, with 3 complaints unanswered (October 2026).
  • CPSC lists two recalls of the earlier front-hub Brompton Electric, a software fault in 2021 and a mudguard fault in 2022 (October 2026).
  • CPSC and Health Canada list a 2024 recall of the non-electric T Line for steerer clamp bolts (October 2026).
  • Brompton runs its own hinge-spindle recall of G Line bikes built before December 2024.
  • None of these recalls names the current e-Motiq models.
Not countedExcluded

Not counted in any pool: the ratings on the brand's own site.

Specs

  • TypeFolding
  • E-Bike ClassClass 1
  • BatteryUp to 400 Wh
  • MotorHub
  • Top SpeedUp to 20 mph
  • Claimed Range41-60 mi
  • WeightUp to 40 lb
  • Max Rider LoadUp to 250 lb
  • SuspensionNone
  • FoldingFolds
  • CertificationsClaimed only
  • Warranty2 Years

Not published by Brompton: brakes.

Not checked: The US assist speed, which Brompton does not print for this line

At a glance

  • Folded 23 x 22.2 x 10.6 in
  • Handbuilt in London
  • Over-the-air updates
  • Brompton Bicycle Inc names its address as Jericho, New York in the store terms of use.
  • Brompton Bicycle Ltd of London designs and hand-builds the bikes.
  • Brompton e-bikes are sold in the US by Brompton Bicycle Inc through its own store at us.brompton.com.
  • Its store sells 16-inch and 20-inch folding e-bikes on one shared e-Motiq motor and battery.
  • The bikes are also sold by a national outdoor retailer and by independent US dealers.
  • REI is the only major US retailer that sells Brompton e-bikes as the seller, carrying the Electric C Line and Electric G Line (October 2026).

The Brompton Electric C Line (Mark 2, e-Motiq) is a steel folding e-bike with 16-inch wheels, a 4-speed derailleur and a 250 W rear hub motor rated 24 Nm with a torque sensor. Its removable 345 Wh battery rides in a bag on the front carrier block, charges in about five hours and carries a claim of up to 56 miles.

It has Brompton dual-pivot rim calipers, a rigid steel fork and 16-inch Schwalbe Marathon Racer tires. Brompton lists it from 39.5 lb with the battery and 31.4 lb without, and rates the A, C, P and T Lines for 242 lb of rider and luggage.

It folds to 23 x 22.2 x 10.6 in and comes with fenders, a Lezyne front light, a handlebar control screen, the SuperRoll+ roller rack, a small zip bag and a bell.

The US store lists Palm Green with mid or high handlebars at $4,700.00, and at the time of reading it added a rack bag, a phone mount, a bar pouch and a bottle as a gift with purchase.

Questions answered from our data

All questions we answer

Stuff VS Things
Logo
Compare items
  • Total (0)
Versus
0
Shopping cart