NIU BQi-C3 Pro Commuter Electric Bike

  • Class 2
  • 801-1,000 Wh
  • Over 80 mi claimed
  • 251-300 lb max load

SVT Score, Mid

Versus
5.9
SVT SCORESRead review

A Class 2 belt-drive commuter e-bike with two swappable batteries, a fitted rack and fenders, but a cadence sensor and a heavy frame.

$819

We may earn a commission if you buy through this link. It never affects our scores. How this works

SKU: EBSL37B119 Category: Brand:

Usability

5.9 out of 10
  • Rating: store spec 480 Wh x 2; spare-pack listing 48 V 9.6 Ah (460 Wh)
  • Option: extra battery $249.99
  • Searched: UL Solutions certificate (hosted copy) UL Certipedia Intertek SGS TÜV SÜD CPSC Health Canada
  • Record: UL Solutions certificate (hosted copy), ANSI/CAN/UL 2849:2022, 1st Ed., BQi-C3 Pro electric bicycles: both EPAC function and non-pedal assist function, Jiangsu niu Electric Technology Co., Ltd
  • Record: UL Product iQ, UL 2849 (QGNS, Electrical Systems for E-Bikes), BQi-C3 Pro, BQi-C3 Sport, BQi Utility 100, Jiangsu niu Electric Technology Co., Ltd
  • Record: TÜV Rheinland Certipedia, EN 15194:2017, BQi-C3 Pro, Jiangsu Niu Electric Technology Co., Ltd

Strengths

  • Belt drive needs little upkeep
  • Rack and fenders come fitted
  • Tires resist punctures
  • Lights front and rear built in
  • Two swappable batteries for long range

Drawbacks

  • Heavy to lift onto racks or stairs
  • Single gear makes pedalling hard on hills
  • No app connection or lock
  • Owners report slow warranty support
  • Cadence sensor spins out at higher speeds
Verdict

A long-range, low-upkeep city bike, but heavy with a basic pedal sensor

Social score

4.5 out of 10
Reddit3 out of 10
Liked
  • first ride feel
Complaints
  • hub clicking
  • power cut-outs
  • unanswered warranty claim
Read the full summary

r/ebikes: a Best Buy employee who bought one loved the ride, then got motor-hub clicking, lost top speed and had power cut-outs; NIU's repair team never replied and the bike went back to the store (Sep 2023, updated Jan 2026)

Google6 out of 10
Liked
  • speed
  • two batteries
  • belt drive
Complaints
  • cadence sensor
  • single speed
  • weight
Read the full summary

Electrek (affiliate links; unit source not stated) calls it funny-shaped yet awesome for its 28 mph speed, two batteries and belt drive, but says the single-speed cadence setup leaves pedalling spinning out at speed (May 2023)

YouTubeNot scored

The YouTube pool is blank: the NIU e-bike videos found are the reviewer's repeat of a written review counted under Google, a manufacturer-paid test, or channels whose tie to NIU is not stated (October 2026).

AmazonNot scored

The Amazon pool is blank: Amazon US shows no NIU e-bike listing sold by the brand (October 2026).

User reviewsNot scored

The retailer pool is blank: Best Buy sells the BQi-C3 Pro (white listing), but all 171 of its reviews carry the Incentivized, Tech Insider Network or Employee badge, and the other seven retailers read (Walmart, Target, Costco, Sam's Club, Home Depot, Lowe's, Dick's) carry no listing of this model (October 2026).

Trustpilot
  • On Trustpilot, niu.com scores 1.5 from 549 reviews, with 9% five-star and 84% one-star (October 2026).
  • The Trustpilot page is claimed but shows no recent history of inviting reviews.
Track record
  • BBB rates NIU Technology Inc. F without accreditation, citing two complaints left unanswered (October 2026).
  • Searches of CPSC and Health Canada found no recall of an NIU kick scooter or e-bike (October 2026).
Not countedExcluded

Not counted in any pool: NIU's own store reviews, its YouTube and social channels, and posts by NIU staff.

Specs

  • TypeCommuter
  • E-Bike ClassClass 2
  • Battery801-1,000 Wh
  • MotorHub
  • Top Speed21-28 mph
  • Claimed RangeOver 80 mi
  • Weight71-85 lb
  • Max Rider Load251-300 lb
  • BrakesMechanical disc
  • SuspensionNone
  • FoldingDoes not fold
  • CertificationsEN 15194 certified, UL 2849 listed
  • Warranty2 Years

At a glance

  • Gates carbon belt drive
  • USB port under display
  • Seat height 32.3 to 40.9 in

The store's terms name NIU Technology Inc. of San Jose, California, as a joint operator with NIU International Co., Ltd. The brand belongs to Niu Technologies, a Nasdaq-listed maker of electric two-wheelers based in Beijing.

  • NIU sells its kick scooters and e-bikes in the US through its own store, shop.niu.com, and some of its scooters through Best Buy.
  • NIU also sells through its own Amazon store, under the seller names NIU Tech. and NIU Global.
  • Best Buy sells NIU's KQi 300P, KQi 300X, KQi 200P and BQi-C3 Pro as the seller, Home Depot lists the KQi 100P and KQi Air, and Walmart and Target carry NIU only through marketplace sellers (October 2026).

The NIU BQi-C3 Pro is a step-through commuter e-bike with two swappable 48 V, 9.6 Ah batteries of 460.8 Wh each, 921.6 Wh together, and a 500 W geared rear hub motor (750 W peak, 45 Nm). The store also lists the pair as 480 Wh times two, and its body copy as 920 Wh.

It has mechanical disc brakes with 180 mm rotors front and rear, a rigid fork, a dual Hall cadence sensor and 27.5 x 2.4 in puncture-resistant tires with a 1.5 mm Kevlar layer. It runs a Gates carbon belt with a single speed.

It weighs 70.5 lb with both batteries and carries a 287 lb total payload, including up to 66 lb on its rear rack. NIU prints Class 2 and Class 3 with switching: 20 mph on the thumb throttle and 28 mph on pedal assist. The maker claims 60 to 90 miles of range at an average 9 mph with a 165 lb rider.

It has a halo headlight, an integrated tail and brake light, full aluminum fenders and a color TFT display with a USB port, but no app connection; the bike is rated IP45 and the battery IP67. It comes in matte black, glossy gray and white at one price. A third battery sells separately for $249.99.

Questions answered from our data

All questions we answer

Stuff VS Things
Logo
Compare items
  • Total (0)
Versus
0
Shopping cart