Brompton Electric P Line Folding Electric Bike

  • Class 1
  • Up to 400 Wh
  • 41-60 mi claimed
  • Up to 250 lb max load

SVT Score, Mid

Versus
3.7
SVT SCORESRead review

A lighter titanium-and-steel folding e-bike with a 345 Wh battery and fitted rack, easy to carry but pricey and limited to rim brakes.

$5,700

We may earn a commission if you buy through this link. It never affects our scores. How this works

SKU: BROMPTON-ELECTRIC-P-LINE Category: Brand:

Usability

3.7 out of 10
  • Source: the US page prints 250 W and no torque; it.brompton.com prints 24 Nm for the same e-Motiq P Line
  • Speed: Brompton prints no US assist limit for this line; a WIRED test of the US T Line found 15.5 mph
Better on motorTern Vektron P10Bosch Performance Line mid-drive is rated 65 Nm of torque. $3,699Scores 4.0
  • Rear: titanium rear frame with an elastomer suspension block, not counted on the folding ladder
Better on ride hardwareTern Vektron P10Hydraulic brakes. $3,699Scores 6.0
  • Lights: Lezyne e115 front light printed; a rear light is not stated
Better on featuresBrompton Electric G Line folding e-bikeA removable battery. $4,950Scores 6.0
  • Searched: ACT Lab compliance directory (non-NRTL) Certipedia Intertek UL SGS TÜV SÜD CPSC Health Canada
  • Record: ACT Lab compliance directory (non-NRTL), ANSI/CAN/UL 2849:2022 (sample test, e-Val certificate), Electric P Line - e-Motiq system; stock/model 'Electric P Line, Electric P Line - e-Motiq system', Brompton Bicycle
  • Record: ACT Lab compliance directory (non-NRTL), ANSI/CAN/UL 2849:2022 (sample test), Electric P-Line (2024-08-07; earlier build: Greenway DZ-ZZ1481002 345.6 Wh pack, motor not disassembled), Brompton Bicycle
  • Frame: seven years with registration, not scored

Strengths

  • Light to lift for a folding e-bike
  • Smooth natural pedal assist
  • Folds small and rolls on its rack
  • Battery lifts out to charge indoors
  • Carbon fork takes the sting out of bumps
  • Rack and fenders come fitted

Drawbacks

  • Rim brakes instead of discs
  • Expensive next to the steel model
  • Assist tops out below the usual US class speed
  • Heavy to pedal with the power off
Verdict

Easy to carry for multi-mode commuters, but costly with basic brakes

Social score

6.3 out of 10
RedditProduct-line5 out of 10
  • r/Brompton: an owner of the earlier front-hub Electric P Line reports battery faults fixed only when the battery and motor were both replaced under warranty (Jul 2026)
  • r/Brompton: a buyer of the e-Motiq P Line was shipped the older model and waited over two weeks for the right bike (Dec 2025)
Google8 out of 10
Liked
  • smooth power
  • intuitive controls
  • quick fold
Complaints
  • cumbersome with battery
  • heavy without power
Read the full summary

Cycling Weekly (unit source not stated) rates the e-Motiq P Line top of its class for smooth, instant power and an intuitive system, but cumbersome to carry with the battery and heavy unpowered (Mar 2026)|BIKE magazine weighed the e-Motiq P Line at 16.03 kg and called it hard to beat for multimodal commuters, though expensive (2026)

YouTubeBrand-level6 out of 10

Ebike Escape (affiliate discount links in the description, stated) called the earlier front-hub Electric C Line the best compact folding e-bike it had ridden (Dec 2024)

AmazonNot scored

The Amazon pool is blank: the search of Amazon US turned up no listing of Brompton's e-bikes sold by Brompton itself (October 2026).

User reviewsNot scored

The retailer pool is blank: none of Walmart, Best Buy, Target, Costco, REI, Home Depot or Lowe's lists the Brompton Electric P Line (October 2026).

Trustpilot

Trustpilot shows 4.3 from 6,307 reviews of brompton.com, 73% five-star and 9% one-star, on a claimed page that invites reviews (September 2026).

Track record
  • BBB rates Brompton Bicycle, Inc. of Brooklyn, New York F and not accredited, with 3 complaints unanswered (October 2026).
  • CPSC lists two recalls of the earlier front-hub Brompton Electric, a software fault in 2021 and a mudguard fault in 2022 (October 2026).
  • CPSC and Health Canada list a 2024 recall of the non-electric T Line for steerer clamp bolts (October 2026).
  • Brompton runs its own hinge-spindle recall of G Line bikes built before December 2024.
  • None of these recalls names the current e-Motiq models.
Not countedExcluded

Not counted in any pool: the ratings on the brand's own site.

Specs

  • TypeFolding
  • E-Bike ClassClass 1
  • BatteryUp to 400 Wh
  • MotorHub
  • Top SpeedUp to 20 mph
  • Claimed Range41-60 mi
  • WeightUp to 40 lb
  • Max Rider LoadUp to 250 lb
  • SuspensionNone
  • FoldingFolds
  • CertificationsClaimed only
  • Warranty2 Years

Not published by Brompton: brakes.

Not checked: The US assist speed, which Brompton does not print for this line

At a glance

  • Titanium rear frame
  • Quick-release pedals
  • Folded 25.4 x 23.6 x 12.6 in
  • Brompton Bicycle Inc names its address as Jericho, New York in the store terms of use.
  • Brompton Bicycle Ltd of London designs and hand-builds the bikes.
  • Brompton e-bikes are sold in the US by Brompton Bicycle Inc through its own store at us.brompton.com.
  • Its store sells 16-inch and 20-inch folding e-bikes on one shared e-Motiq motor and battery.
  • The bikes are also sold by a national outdoor retailer and by independent US dealers.
  • REI is the only major US retailer that sells Brompton e-bikes as the seller, carrying the Electric C Line and Electric G Line (October 2026).

The Brompton Electric P Line (Mark 2, e-Motiq) is a 16-inch folding e-bike with a steel main frame, a titanium rear frame with a suspension block, a carbon fork and a 4-speed derailleur.

It uses the same 250 W e-Motiq rear hub motor with a torque sensor as the C Line, rated 24 Nm on Brompton's Italian spec table, and a removable 345 Wh battery with a claim of up to 56 miles. It has Brompton dual-pivot rim calipers and 16-inch Continental Contact Urban tires on Presta tubes.

Brompton lists it from 35.05 lb with the battery and 28.6 lb without, rated for 242 lb of rider and luggage. It folds to 25.4 x 23.6 x 12.6 in and comes with fenders, a Lezyne front light, a handlebar control screen, the SuperRoll+ roller rack, quick-release pedals, a small zip bag and a bell.

The US store lists Pacific Lacquer with mid or high handlebars at $5,700.00, while its electric landing page says from $5,500.

Questions answered from our data

All questions we answer

Stuff VS Things
Logo
Compare items
  • Total (0)
Versus
0
Shopping cart