Product comparison · Laser Hair Growth Caps & Helmets

HairMax Ultima 9 Classic vs Capillus Red Light Brush

The HairMax Ultima 9 Classic scores 5.7 and ranks 17th of 40 in Laser Hair Growth Caps & Helmets; the Capillus Red Light Brush scores 4.0 and ranks 38th of 40 in Laser Hair Growth Caps & Helmets. The Ultima 9 Classic leads on verification, the Red Light Brush on ease of use.

All 10 HairMax products
HairMax Ultima 9 Classic LaserComb

HairMax Ultima 9 Classic

$249 · 17th of 40 in Laser Hair Growth Caps & Helmets

Buy Now
  • Verification — 7 against 2
5.7
vs
4.0
All 7 Capillus products
Capillus Red Light Brush

Capillus Red Light Brush

$225 · 38th of 40 in Laser Hair Growth Caps & Helmets

Buy Now
  • Ease of Use — 7 against 6

Across everything we scored, HairMax Ultima 9 Classic sits 1.76 ahead — led by verification.

Verdict

Ultima 9 Classic ahead · +1.76 (5.7 vs 4.0)

Pick the HairMax Ultima 9 Classic when

Verification matters7vs2

Value matters9vs5

Warranty & support matters2vs1

Pick the Capillus Red Light Brush when

Ease of use matters7vs6

Scored 8 October 2026 from published specs and owner reviews. We don't buy or test units. How we score

Most common complaints

From each product's own owner reviews and retailer ratings.

HairMax Ultima 9 Classic

  • Value for money, tagged 52 times, 35 negative
  • Battery life and durability, tagged 10 times each, 8 negative
  • 11 minutes of continuous combing, 2 reviews

Capillus Red Light Brush

  • No printed manual, only a QR code, per 4 of 8
  • Touchy power button that misses presses or shuts off mid-session, per 3 of 8
  • Price, per 2 of 8

Where the HairMax Ultima 9 Classic and Capillus Red Light Brush differ

Scores on a 0–10 scale. Each row is one criterion, biggest difference first.

Verification

+5 HairMax
HairMax Ultima 9 Classic
7.0
Capillus Red Light Brush
2.0

HairMax Ultima 9 Classic: 510(k) cleared · Capillus Red Light Brush: Not stated.

Value

+4 HairMax
HairMax Ultima 9 Classic
9.0
Capillus Red Light Brush
5.0

Warranty & Support

+1 HairMax
HairMax Ultima 9 Classic
2.0
Capillus Red Light Brush
1.0

HairMax Ultima 9 Classic: 1 Year · Capillus Red Light Brush: 60 Days.

Ease of Use

+1 Capillus
HairMax Ultima 9 Classic
6.0
Capillus Red Light Brush
7.0

Wavelength Spec

tied
HairMax Ultima 9 Classic
10.0
Capillus Red Light Brush
10.0

Coverage

tied
HairMax Ultima 9 Classic
1.0
Capillus Red Light Brush
1.0

Build Quality

tied
HairMax Ultima 9 Classic
5.0
Capillus Red Light Brush
5.0

Light Output

one side unscored
HairMax Ultima 9 Classic
—
Capillus Red Light Brush
—

What HairMax Ultima 9 Classic and Capillus Red Light Brush owners report

Independent sources, scored for each model. Ultima 9 Classic on 5 of five, Red Light Brush on 5.

Reddit

+1 HairMax
HairMax Ultima 9 Classic
5.0
Capillus Red Light Brush
4.0

The Capillus Red Light Brush reading covers the whole brand.

What they say

HairMax Ultima 9 Classic

  • Reddit posts naming the Ultima 9 are few and dated, with two owners across two r/FemaleHairLoss threads.
  • The poster of a May 2021 thread (24 comments), who named her comb as the HairMax LaserComb Ultima9, found the first 11-minute session easy but said her arm began to ache, and by July 2021 had logged 17 sessions at three a week.
  • In an October 2021 thread (10 comments), an owner of the 'model 9' asked whether to go past the 11-minute directions, and the top reply advised holding each section about a minute instead of moving at the 4-second beep.
  • A November 2020 r/FemaleHairLoss owner of a HairMax comb with 11-minute box directions, model not named, said covering her whole head took about an hour three days a week and wished she had bought the LaserBand instead.

Capillus Red Light Brush

  • A June 2025 r/redlighttherapyhair thread (12 comments) reports a $2,699 Spectrum arriving after two weeks with no tracking, unsealed and showing signs of prior use, and a May 2026 reply in the same thread reports a cap returned for being too big, delivered to Capillus by USPS, yet never credited.
  • A September 2024 r/redlighttherapy thread (6 comments) covers the discontinued 4.6 battery pack for older caps, with one owner saying the company's fix is a paid rewire on top of the new battery.
  • Fit is the other repeat complaint: in a June 2025 r/redlighttherapy thread (9 comments) two owners describe the cap as wobbly or oversized, and posters there and in a July 2026 r/FemaleHairLoss thread (3 comments) say a physician pushed Capillus while appearing to have a deal with the company.
  • An October 2023 r/tressless thread (31 comments) is mostly dismissive on price, pointing buyers to cheaper imported laser caps.

Google

+1 HairMax
HairMax Ultima 9 Classic
6.0
Capillus Red Light Brush
5.0

The Capillus Red Light Brush reading covers the whole brand.

What they say

HairMax Ultima 9 Classic

  • Written coverage of the Ultima 9 is desk roundups, and three of the four carry buy links.
  • Innerbody's HairMax review (updated December 2023), which earns commission on its links, lists the Ultima 9 at $199 for 11 minutes three times a week and notes that holding a comb through an 8- to 11-minute session can tire the arm, with session length varying by head size.
  • How To Get Great Hair (January 2023, Amazon affiliate links) recommends the Ultima 9 over the Ultima 12 on price, about $200 against $400, and lists the few extra minutes per session as its con.
  • Hair Loss Geeks (updated December 2021, an Amazon Associate) and Care and Cream (August 2023) call it lightweight and easy to use, Care and Cream naming the 11 minutes of continuous combing as its only downside, and both still cite a two-year warranty against the one year HairMax now lists.

Capillus Red Light Brush

  • Wareable's September 2026 review, on a site that earns affiliate commissions on the caps, ran the PRO, Spectrum and TriSpectrum for two months and found the three caps near-identical in appearance.
  • The reviewer recharged the battery pack every five to six days, about 36 minutes of use per charge, and named price as the main drawback, with the PRO at $1,019.40 on sale against $3,299 for the TriSpectrum.
  • The rest of the Capillus web coverage is templated affiliate listicles and brand-page rewrites that show no hands-on use.

YouTube

tied
HairMax Ultima 9 Classic
5.0
Capillus Red Light Brush
5.0

The Capillus Red Light Brush reading covers the whole brand.

What they say

HairMax Ultima 9 Classic

  • Three independent videos show the Ultima 9 out of the box, none with long-term use.
  • Let's Try Everything (February 2018, 9,823 views, a channel that links to buy it on Amazon) unboxed an Amazon-bought comb, showed the two charging options (the cradle, or the cord straight into the handle) and the 2- to 3-hour first charge, and ran one session on camera.
  • Vietchild's October 2017 openbox (2,965 views) bought it from QVC with a HairMax booster spray and read through the box and insert card without using it on camera, and Victorality's March 2021 unboxing (328 views) carries no captions.
  • Beautyistic's June 2025 video (58 views, commission links in the description) repeats the Amazon listing, including its 8-minute session figure, praises the charging cradle and light weight, and names price as the drawback.

Capillus Red Light Brush

  • No independent video covers the Red Light Brush yet, so the pool rests on four owner videos of older Capillus caps from 2020 to 2023.
  • HairHoney's February 2022 video (11,414 views, a cap given to the creator's mother, channel links its own Etsy shop) calls the 272-laser cap massive and hard to keep on straight and notes slight warmth, on a cap that cost about $3,000.
  • Ryan's Reviews' December 2023 video (6,470 views, Amazon affiliate links) reports an eight-year-old Capillus still running, 3 to 4 sessions per charge, and a loose fit on a smaller head.
  • The Costco Review Guy's November 2020 first look at a Costco-bought Capillus 82 (about $900) found operation simple but felt itching or a burning sensation near the end of the 6-minute session.
  • Florencia Rodriguez's May 2023 video on the CapillusUltra (about 6,300 views) praises a battery pack that lasts several uses and the auto shutoff when the cap comes off.

Amazon

+1 Capillus
HairMax Ultima 9 Classic
7.0
Capillus Red Light Brush
8.0

Both readings are about these exact models.

What they say

HairMax Ultima 9 Classic

  • The Amazon US listing (ASIN B07HGHL5TW, sold by Hairmax Official and shipped by Amazon, $199) holds 3.9 from 1,489 ratings, 54 percent five-star against 12 percent one-star.
  • The 9-laser comb has its own review file: the two Ultima 12 options on the same page carry separate counts, 4.0 from 194 and 4.1 from 78.
  • Ease of use is tagged 39 times, 37 positive, value for money 52 times, 35 negative, and battery life and durability 10 times each, 8 negative.
  • Written reviews describe a comb that stopped charging after about two and a half months (December 2024) and lasers that failed two days after the return window closed (September 2025), while an August 2020 buyer says HairMax refunded him directly after Amazon's 30-day window had passed.

Capillus Red Light Brush

  • The Amazon US listing, currently unavailable with no featured offer, holds 4.0 from 25 ratings, split 42 percent five-star against 5 percent one-star.
  • All 8 reviews shown on the page are Amazon Vine reviews of free units, posted August 19 to 30, 2026.
  • Build and the wood finish draw praise in 5 of the 8, while 4 fault the missing printed manual (the box carries only a QR code) and 3 describe a touchy flush power button that misses presses or cuts sessions short.
  • Price splits the 8, with 2 calling the $225 to $229 price too high and 2 calling it reasonable next to a Capillus cap.

Owner reviews

+1 HairMax
HairMax Ultima 9 Classic
6.0
Capillus Red Light Brush
5.0

The Capillus Red Light Brush reading covers the whole brand.

What they say

HairMax Ultima 9 Classic

  • Costco sold the Ultima 9 Classic as a bundle with HairMax shampoo and conditioner (item 100481872), and its review file holds 3.5 from 86 reviews posted April 2019 to August 2020, all written on Costco, 85 from verified buyers, none syndicated or flagged incentivised.
  • The split is 30 five-star against 16 one-star, and 21 of the 35 who answered would recommend it (60 percent).
  • Two buyers returned units that never turned on or held a charge (May 2019, March 2020), and two called the 11-minute combing session tiresome or impractical, one because her hair dried frizzy before she finished.
  • Three found the comb easy to hold and operate, and two said Costco's price was well below what they had seen elsewhere, one naming Nordstrom.

Capillus Red Light Brush

  • The brush sells only on capillus.com and Amazon, so the retailer pool is Costco's own review file for Capillus caps, which is native to Costco, not syndicated, and carries no incentive flags.
  • The CapillusUltra cap holds 3.35 from 353 reviews written in 2019 and 2020, with 151 reviewers recommending it to 88 not, a 63 percent recommend rate.
  • The current Capillus Pro Cap listing ($1,199.99 at Costco versus $1,699 on capillus.com) holds 3.46 from 67 reviews dated December 2023 to April 2025, split 14 to 14 on recommending it, and its low-rated reviews cite a unit that beeped nonstop and failed out of the box, a single cap size too small for two reviewers, a missing promised shampoo bundle, and price.
  • Across Costco's eight Capillus laser-cap listings, 238 reviewers recommend and 172 do not, a 58 percent rate.

HairMax Ultima 9 Classic vs Capillus Red Light Brush: pros and cons

What each one does well, and where it falls short.

HairMax Ultima 9 Classic

What we like

  • 510(k) K103368 describes the 9-laser comb
  • $249, the lowest-priced HairMax laser device
  • Amazon ease of use tagged 39 times37 positive
  • Charges on the cradle or straight from the cord

What holds it back

  • 11-minute session3 minutes longer than the 12-laser combs
  • Handheld and moved every 4 secondsowners report arm fatigue
  • Amazon value for money tagged 52 times35 negative
  • Amazon battery life and durability tagged 10 times each8 negative
  • 1-year warranty

Capillus Red Light Brush

What we like

  • 32 diodes at 650 nm5 mW, Class 3R stated on its page
  • 5-minute auto-off sessioncordless
  • USB-C charging in 1 to 4 hours
  • $225, the lowest-priced Capillus hair device

What holds it back

  • 60-day warranty
  • Spec table gives an LED count where the same page states a Class 3R laser
  • Daily use in the page textthree times a week in its spec table and manual
  • No 510(k) or FDA listing names it
  • 32 diodesthe lowest coverage in its category
  • Amazon listing unavailableall 8 reviews shown are Vine free-unit reviews

HairMax Ultima 9 Classic vs Capillus Red Light Brush: the numbers

Price, scores and rank, then only the specs that differ. Green marks the side with more.

5.7
Overall
Usability5.7
Social5.8

17th of 40 in Hair Caps & Helmets

Capillus Red Light Brush

4-700-1-US-111-22

Capillus Red Light Brush

4.0
Overall
Usability4.1
Social5.4

38th of 40 in Hair Caps & Helmets

  • FDA status
    HairMax510(k) cleared
    CapillusNot listed
  • Session length
    HairMax11-20 min
    Capillus5-10 min
  • Warranty
    HairMax More1 Year
    Capillus60 Days
  • Dimensions
    HairMax9.8 x 2.4 x 2 in
    Capillus9.8 x 3.3 x 1.6 in
  • Weight
    HairMax0.4 lb
    Capillus4.7 oz

Same on both

  • Laser combDevice type
  • Red (620-680 nm)Wavelength bands
  • Not measuredMeasured irradiance
  • Not listedClaimed irradiance
  • IEC 60825 class statedSafety listings
  • BatteryPower

We earn a commission if you buy through these links. It never changes a score.

Not sold on either one?

The top-scored and the cheapest other pick from each brand.

More from HairMax 9 scored in Laser Hair Growth Caps & Helmets

HairMax PowerFlex 272 Laser Cap
Top scoredHairMax PowerFlex 272$1,799$1,550 more
6.9
What’s different
  • Session length: 5-10 min, not 11-20 min
Pick it ifCoverage matters8vs1
HairMax Ultima 12 Classic LaserComb
Lowest priceHairMax Ultima 12 Classic$299$50 more
5.6
What’s different
  • Session length: 5-10 min, not 11-20 min
Pick it ifEase of use matters7vs6

More from Capillus 6 scored in Laser Hair Growth Caps & Helmets

Capillus PRO 272 Laser Cap
Top scoredCapillus PRO 272$1,699$1,474 more
7.4
What’s different
  • FDA status: 510(k) cleared, not Not stated
  • Warranty: 3 Years, not 60 Days
Pick it ifCoverage matters8vs1
Capillus HairBand Laser Headband
Lowest priceCapillus HairBand$600$375 more
4.2
What’s different
  • Safety listings: none listed
  • Warranty: 1 Year, not 60 Days
Pick it ifCoverage matters4vs1

HairMax Ultima 9 Classic vs Capillus Red Light Brush: common questions

Is the HairMax Ultima 9 Classic better than the Capillus Red Light Brush?

On our scores, the HairMax Ultima 9 Classic is ahead, 5.7 against 4.0. The HairMax Ultima 9 Classic leads on verification (7 against 2), value (9 against 5) and warranty & support (2 against 1). The Capillus Red Light Brush leads on ease of use (7 against 6).

Which is cheaper, the HairMax Ultima 9 Classic or the Capillus Red Light Brush?

The Capillus Red Light Brush, at $225 against $249: $24 less.

Which has the longer warranty, the HairMax Ultima 9 Classic or the Capillus Red Light Brush?

The HairMax Ultima 9 Classic: 1 Year, against 60 Days.

What do owners say about the HairMax Ultima 9 Classic and the Capillus Red Light Brush?

Across 5 independent sources scored for both, the HairMax Ultima 9 Classic is ahead on Reddit, Google and Owner reviews; the Capillus Red Light Brush is ahead on Amazon; YouTube is level.

More laser hair growth caps & helmets comparisons

More head-to-heads with these two.

Scores calculated 8 October 2026 · Products excluded where fewer than two independent sources cover them ·  · How we score

Stuff VS Things
Logo
Compare items
  • Total (0)
Versus
2
Shopping cart