Product comparison · Laser Hair Growth Caps & Helmets

HairMax Ultima 12 Classic vs Capillus Red Light Brush

The HairMax Ultima 12 Classic scores 5.7 and ranks 18th of 40 in Laser Hair Growth Caps & Helmets; the Capillus Red Light Brush scores 4.0 and ranks 38th of 40 in Laser Hair Growth Caps & Helmets. The Ultima 12 Classic leads on verification.

All 10 HairMax products
HairMax Ultima 12 Classic LaserComb

HairMax Ultima 12 Classic

$299 · 18th of 40 in Laser Hair Growth Caps & Helmets

Buy Now
  • Verification — 7 against 2
5.7
vs
4.0
All 7 Capillus products
Capillus Red Light Brush

Capillus Red Light Brush

$225 · 38th of 40 in Laser Hair Growth Caps & Helmets

Buy Now

    Across everything we scored, HairMax Ultima 12 Classic sits 1.73 ahead — led by verification.

    Verdict

    Ultima 12 Classic ahead · +1.73 (5.7 vs 4.0)

    Pick the HairMax Ultima 12 Classic when

    Verification matters7vs2

    Value matters7vs5

    Warranty & support matters2vs1

    Pick the Capillus Red Light Brush when

    Price matters$225vs$299

    Scored 8 October 2026 from published specs and owner reviews. We don't buy or test units. How we score

    Most common complaints

    From each product's own owner reviews and retailer ratings.

    HairMax Ultima 12 Classic

    • Unit stopped working with no official repair route in India, per one owner
    • Price high for a home device, per one channel
    • Rigid comb will not lie flat on the crown, per one owner

    Capillus Red Light Brush

    • No printed manual, only a QR code, per 4 of 8
    • Touchy power button that misses presses or shuts off mid-session, per 3 of 8
    • Price, per 2 of 8

    Where the HairMax Ultima 12 Classic and Capillus Red Light Brush differ

    Scores on a 0–10 scale. Each row is one criterion, biggest difference first.

    Verification

    +5 HairMax
    HairMax Ultima 12 Classic
    7.0
    Capillus Red Light Brush
    2.0

    HairMax Ultima 12 Classic: 510(k) cleared · Capillus Red Light Brush: Not stated.

    Value

    +2 HairMax
    HairMax Ultima 12 Classic
    7.0
    Capillus Red Light Brush
    5.0

    Warranty & Support

    +1 HairMax
    HairMax Ultima 12 Classic
    2.0
    Capillus Red Light Brush
    1.0

    HairMax Ultima 12 Classic: 1 Year · Capillus Red Light Brush: 60 Days.

    Wavelength Spec

    tied
    HairMax Ultima 12 Classic
    10.0
    Capillus Red Light Brush
    10.0

    Coverage

    tied
    HairMax Ultima 12 Classic
    1.0
    Capillus Red Light Brush
    1.0

    Build Quality

    tied
    HairMax Ultima 12 Classic
    5.0
    Capillus Red Light Brush
    5.0

    Ease of Use

    tied
    HairMax Ultima 12 Classic
    7.0
    Capillus Red Light Brush
    7.0

    Light Output

    one side unscored
    HairMax Ultima 12 Classic
    —
    Capillus Red Light Brush
    —

    What HairMax Ultima 12 Classic and Capillus Red Light Brush owners report

    Independent sources, scored for each model. Ultima 12 Classic on 5 of five, Red Light Brush on 5.

    Reddit

    tied
    HairMax Ultima 12 Classic
    4.0
    Capillus Red Light Brush
    4.0

    The Capillus Red Light Brush reading covers the whole brand.

    What they say

    HairMax Ultima 12 Classic

    • Reddit holds one thread naming the Ultima 12 Classic, a March 2026 r/ElectronicsRepair post (1 comment) from an owner in India whose comb suddenly stopped working.
    • The owner suspected the circuit board and reported no official HairMax service or repair route in India.
    • The only reply came from an independent electronics hobbyist offering paid repair after a non-refundable evaluation fee of 1,000 rupees.

    Capillus Red Light Brush

    • A June 2025 r/redlighttherapyhair thread (12 comments) reports a $2,699 Spectrum arriving after two weeks with no tracking, unsealed and showing signs of prior use, and a May 2026 reply in the same thread reports a cap returned for being too big, delivered to Capillus by USPS, yet never credited.
    • A September 2024 r/redlighttherapy thread (6 comments) covers the discontinued 4.6 battery pack for older caps, with one owner saying the company's fix is a paid rewire on top of the new battery.
    • Fit is the other repeat complaint: in a June 2025 r/redlighttherapy thread (9 comments) two owners describe the cap as wobbly or oversized, and posters there and in a July 2026 r/FemaleHairLoss thread (3 comments) say a physician pushed Capillus while appearing to have a deal with the company.
    • An October 2023 r/tressless thread (31 comments) is mostly dismissive on price, pointing buyers to cheaper imported laser caps.

    Google

    +1 HairMax
    HairMax Ultima 12 Classic
    6.0
    Capillus Red Light Brush
    5.0

    The HairMax Ultima 12 Classic reading covers its product line; the Capillus Red Light Brush reading covers the whole brand.

    What they say

    HairMax Ultima 12 Classic

    • The pages naming the Ultima 12 Classic are a shop-linked forum roundup and a spec-sheet page, neither describing use.
    • The nearest hands-on account is Taste of Calm's review of the older HairMax LaserComb SE (published March 2025, updated September 2026, which earns commission on its Amazon links).
    • Its author bought the comb for $395 in 2007 and reports the original unit still running.
    • She calls it small enough to travel with and packs it regularly, but says moving it along the scalp takes about 10 minutes a session and, with washing and styling, stretches her routine to about an hour.

    Capillus Red Light Brush

    • Wareable's September 2026 review, on a site that earns affiliate commissions on the caps, ran the PRO, Spectrum and TriSpectrum for two months and found the three caps near-identical in appearance.
    • The reviewer recharged the battery pack every five to six days, about 36 minutes of use per charge, and named price as the main drawback, with the PRO at $1,019.40 on sale against $3,299 for the TriSpectrum.
    • The rest of the Capillus web coverage is templated affiliate listicles and brand-page rewrites that show no hands-on use.

    YouTube

    +1 HairMax
    HairMax Ultima 12 Classic
    6.0
    Capillus Red Light Brush
    5.0

    The Capillus Red Light Brush reading covers the whole brand.

    What they say

    HairMax Ultima 12 Classic

    • One independent video names the Ultima 12 Classic: Beautyistic's March 2025 review (4 minutes 28 seconds, 290 views, a channel that links to buy it on Amazon and earns commission), which shows no purchase or long-term use.
    • It calls the comb light, comfortable and cordless, the build solid and durable, and the 8-minute session easy to fit in, and names the price as high for a home device while pointing to the 1-year warranty and 6-month money-back guarantee.
    • The most-watched HairMax comb videos, Tina Tomato's 2020 pair (94,791 and 172,228 views, with affiliate links), cover the older Ultima 12 with a display.

    Capillus Red Light Brush

    • No independent video covers the Red Light Brush yet, so the pool rests on four owner videos of older Capillus caps from 2020 to 2023.
    • HairHoney's February 2022 video (11,414 views, a cap given to the creator's mother, channel links its own Etsy shop) calls the 272-laser cap massive and hard to keep on straight and notes slight warmth, on a cap that cost about $3,000.
    • Ryan's Reviews' December 2023 video (6,470 views, Amazon affiliate links) reports an eight-year-old Capillus still running, 3 to 4 sessions per charge, and a loose fit on a smaller head.
    • The Costco Review Guy's November 2020 first look at a Costco-bought Capillus 82 (about $900) found operation simple but felt itching or a burning sensation near the end of the 6-minute session.
    • Florencia Rodriguez's May 2023 video on the CapillusUltra (about 6,300 views) praises a battery pack that lasts several uses and the auto shutoff when the cap comes off.

    Amazon

    tied
    HairMax Ultima 12 Classic
    8.0
    Capillus Red Light Brush
    8.0

    Both readings are about these exact models.

    What they say

    HairMax Ultima 12 Classic

    • The Amazon US listing (ASIN B0D8RJ3VTF, model KH012CLDMUSXX00), the "12 Medical Grade Lasers (No Display)" option in a family with the $399 display model and the Ultima 9, is sold by Hairmax Official and shipped by Amazon at $254.15.
    • It holds 4.1 from 78 ratings, 67 percent five-star against 16 percent one-star, in a review file separate from the display model's (4.0 from 194).
    • Quality is tagged 5 times, 4 positive, and 4 of the 8 reviews shown call the comb easy to use.
    • A February 2026 four-star owner said the rigid comb cannot lie flat on the crown and that the unit arrived without the buzz that prompts each move, and a July 2026 one-star owner found no phone number or email to arrange a return.

    Capillus Red Light Brush

    • The Amazon US listing, currently unavailable with no featured offer, holds 4.0 from 25 ratings, split 42 percent five-star against 5 percent one-star.
    • All 8 reviews shown on the page are Amazon Vine reviews of free units, posted August 19 to 30, 2026.
    • Build and the wood finish draw praise in 5 of the 8, while 4 fault the missing printed manual (the box carries only a QR code) and 3 describe a touchy flush power button that misses presses or cuts sessions short.
    • Price splits the 8, with 2 calling the $225 to $229 price too high and 2 calling it reasonable next to a Capillus cap.

    Owner reviews

    +1 HairMax
    HairMax Ultima 12 Classic
    6.0
    Capillus Red Light Brush
    5.0

    The HairMax Ultima 12 Classic reading covers its product line; the Capillus Red Light Brush reading covers the whole brand.

    What they say

    HairMax Ultima 12 Classic

    • No retailer holds a native review file for the Ultima 12 Classic: Costco lists the comb (item 4201040390) with 0 reviews, LovelySkin's Classic page has none, and all 30 reviews on Walmart's Classic listing are labelled as coming from hairmax.com or Hairmax International, the brand's own file.
    • The nearest native file is Costco's for the Ultima 9 Classic bundle (item 100481872), which HairMax's manual describes as the same comb with 9 diodes and an 11-minute session.
    • It holds 3.5 from 86 reviews posted April 2019 to August 2020, all written on Costco and none syndicated, with 30 five-star against 16 one-star and 21 of 35 who answered recommending it.
    • Hardware complaints there are two units that never powered on or held a charge, both returned, and three reviewers who found holding the comb and moving it every 4 seconds for 10-plus minutes tiresome or too much effort.

    Capillus Red Light Brush

    • The brush sells only on capillus.com and Amazon, so the retailer pool is Costco's own review file for Capillus caps, which is native to Costco, not syndicated, and carries no incentive flags.
    • The CapillusUltra cap holds 3.35 from 353 reviews written in 2019 and 2020, with 151 reviewers recommending it to 88 not, a 63 percent recommend rate.
    • The current Capillus Pro Cap listing ($1,199.99 at Costco versus $1,699 on capillus.com) holds 3.46 from 67 reviews dated December 2023 to April 2025, split 14 to 14 on recommending it, and its low-rated reviews cite a unit that beeped nonstop and failed out of the box, a single cap size too small for two reviewers, a missing promised shampoo bundle, and price.
    • Across Costco's eight Capillus laser-cap listings, 238 reviewers recommend and 172 do not, a 58 percent rate.

    HairMax Ultima 12 Classic vs Capillus Red Light Brush: pros and cons

    What each one does well, and where it falls short.

    HairMax Ultima 12 Classic

    What we like

    • 510(k) K103368 describes the 12-laser comb
    • $299, $100 below the Ultima 12
    • Amazon 4.1 from 7867 percent five-star
    • Charges on the cradle or straight from the cord
    • Beep and vibration every 4 seconds pace each move

    What holds it back

    • No timer displaythe auto-off comes at 15 minutes, not 8
    • Handheldmoved every 4 seconds for the whole session
    • Amazon's listing text claims a lighted display it does not have
    • 1-year warranty

    Capillus Red Light Brush

    What we like

    • 32 diodes at 650 nm5 mW, Class 3R stated on its page
    • 5-minute auto-off sessioncordless
    • USB-C charging in 1 to 4 hours
    • $225, the lowest-priced Capillus hair device

    What holds it back

    • 60-day warranty
    • Spec table gives an LED count where the same page states a Class 3R laser
    • Daily use in the page textthree times a week in its spec table and manual
    • No 510(k) or FDA listing names it
    • 32 diodesthe lowest coverage in its category
    • Amazon listing unavailableall 8 reviews shown are Vine free-unit reviews

    HairMax Ultima 12 Classic vs Capillus Red Light Brush: the numbers

    Price, scores and rank, then only the specs that differ. Green marks the side with more.

    5.7
    Overall
    Usability5.5
    Social6.0

    18th of 40 in Hair Caps & Helmets

    Capillus Red Light Brush

    4-700-1-US-111-22

    Capillus Red Light Brush

    4.0
    Overall
    Usability4.1
    Social5.4

    38th of 40 in Hair Caps & Helmets

    • FDA status
      HairMax510(k) cleared
      CapillusNot listed
    • Warranty
      HairMax More1 Year
      Capillus60 Days
    • Dimensions
      HairMax9.8 x 2.4 x 2 in
      Capillus9.8 x 3.3 x 1.6 in
    • Weight
      HairMax0.4 lb
      Capillus4.7 oz

    Same on both

    • Laser combDevice type
    • Red (620-680 nm)Wavelength bands
    • Not measuredMeasured irradiance
    • Not listedClaimed irradiance
    • IEC 60825 class statedSafety listings
    • BatteryPower
    • 5-10 minSession length

    We earn a commission if you buy through these links. It never changes a score.

    Not sold on either one?

    The top-scored and the cheapest other pick from each brand.

    More from HairMax 9 scored in Laser Hair Growth Caps & Helmets

    HairMax PowerFlex 272 Laser Cap
    Top scoredHairMax PowerFlex 272$1,799$1,500 more
    6.9
    What’s different
    • Nothing we record differs.
    Pick it ifCoverage matters8vs1
    HairMax Ultima 9 Classic LaserComb
    Lowest priceHairMax Ultima 9 Classic$249$50 less
    5.9
    What’s different
    • Session length: 11-20 min, not 5-10 min
    Pick it ifValue matters9vs7

    More from Capillus 6 scored in Laser Hair Growth Caps & Helmets

    Capillus PRO 272 Laser Cap
    Top scoredCapillus PRO 272$1,699$1,474 more
    7.4
    What’s different
    • FDA status: 510(k) cleared, not Not stated
    • Warranty: 3 Years, not 60 Days
    Pick it ifCoverage matters8vs1
    Capillus HairBand Laser Headband
    Lowest priceCapillus HairBand$600$375 more
    4.2
    What’s different
    • Safety listings: none listed
    • Warranty: 1 Year, not 60 Days
    Pick it ifCoverage matters4vs1

    HairMax Ultima 12 Classic vs Capillus Red Light Brush: common questions

    Is the HairMax Ultima 12 Classic better than the Capillus Red Light Brush?

    On our scores, the HairMax Ultima 12 Classic is ahead, 5.7 against 4.0. The HairMax Ultima 12 Classic leads on verification (7 against 2), value (7 against 5) and warranty & support (2 against 1).

    Which is cheaper, the HairMax Ultima 12 Classic or the Capillus Red Light Brush?

    The Capillus Red Light Brush, at $225 against $299: $74 less.

    Which has the longer warranty, the HairMax Ultima 12 Classic or the Capillus Red Light Brush?

    The HairMax Ultima 12 Classic: 1 Year, against 60 Days.

    What do owners say about the HairMax Ultima 12 Classic and the Capillus Red Light Brush?

    Across 5 independent sources scored for both, the HairMax Ultima 12 Classic is ahead on Google, YouTube and Owner reviews; Reddit and Amazon are level.

    More laser hair growth caps & helmets comparisons

    More head-to-heads with these two.

    Scores calculated 8 October 2026 · Products excluded where fewer than two independent sources cover them ·  · How we score

    Stuff VS Things
    Logo
    Compare items
    • Total (0)
    Versus
    2
    Shopping cart