Product comparison · Laser Hair Growth Caps & Helmets

Capillus PRO S1 vs illumiflow 312 Ultra

The Capillus PRO S1 scores 6.1 and ranks 13th of 40 in Laser Hair Growth Caps & Helmets; the illumiflow 312 Ultra scores 5.4 and ranks 20th of 40 in Laser Hair Growth Caps & Helmets. The PRO S1 leads on warranty & support, the 312 Ultra on build quality.

All 7 Capillus products
Capillus PRO S1 Laser Cap

Capillus PRO S1

$2,499 · 13th of 40 in Laser Hair Growth Caps & Helmets

Buy Now
  • Warranty & Support — 6 against 4
6.1
vs
5.4
All 7 illumiflow products
illumiflow 312 Ultra Laser Cap

illumiflow 312 Ultra

$1,699 · 20th of 40 in Laser Hair Growth Caps & Helmets

Buy Now
  • Build Quality — 7 against 5

Across everything we scored, Capillus PRO S1 sits 0.64 ahead — led by warranty & support.

Verdict

PRO S1 ahead · +0.64 (6.1 vs 5.4)

Pick the Capillus PRO S1 when

Warranty & support matters6vs4

Wavelength spec matters10vs9

A longer warranty matters3 Yearsvs2 Years

Pick the illumiflow 312 Ultra when

Build quality matters7vs5

Price matters$1,699vs$2,499

You want near-infrared (800-880 nm)

Scored 8 October 2026 from published specs and owner reviews. We don't buy or test units. How we score

Where the Capillus PRO S1 and illumiflow 312 Ultra differ

Scores on a 0–10 scale. Each row is one criterion, biggest difference first.

Build Quality

+2 illumiflow
Capillus PRO S1
5.0
illumiflow 312 Ultra
7.0

Warranty & Support

+2 Capillus
Capillus PRO S1
6.0
illumiflow 312 Ultra
4.0

Capillus PRO S1: 3 Years · illumiflow 312 Ultra: 2 Years.

Wavelength Spec

+1 Capillus
Capillus PRO S1
10.0
illumiflow 312 Ultra
9.0

Verification

tied
Capillus PRO S1
2.0
illumiflow 312 Ultra
2.0

Capillus PRO S1: Registered or listed only · illumiflow 312 Ultra: Not stated.

Coverage

tied
Capillus PRO S1
10.0
illumiflow 312 Ultra
10.0

Ease of Use

tied
Capillus PRO S1
9.0
illumiflow 312 Ultra
9.0

Value

tied
Capillus PRO S1
4.0
illumiflow 312 Ultra
4.0

Light Output

one side unscored
Capillus PRO S1
—
illumiflow 312 Ultra
—

What Capillus PRO S1 and illumiflow 312 Ultra owners report

Independent sources, scored for each model. PRO S1 on 5 of five, 312 Ultra on 4.

Reddit

tied
Capillus PRO S1
5.0
illumiflow 312 Ultra
5.0

The illumiflow 312 Ultra reading covers the whole brand.

What they say

Capillus PRO S1

  • Owner reports on this exact cap are few and scattered: an r/blueprint_ owner (November 2023, 82-comment thread) bought the Pro S1 on a non-sponsored doctor's YouTube recommendation and reported only an occasional itchy scalp four months into daily use, then wrote in 2026 that he had stopped his Capillus roughly three years into near-daily use over a scalp-skin complaint.
  • A June 2024 r/HairTransplants update lists the Pro S1 in a daily routine for five months, and a September 2026 commenter used the Pro S1 for about a year and then moved to the Spectrum.
  • On price, the same November 2023 thread put the Pro S1 at about $2,400 with Black Friday discounts, and an August 2024 r/redlighttherapy thread discusses physician-channel MD and RX caps priced above the Pro S1.

illumiflow 312 Ultra

  • No Reddit thread names the 312 Ultra or illumiflow's other flexible 6-minute caps, so this reading is of owners of its rigid 272, a different build used for 30 minutes every other day.
  • A handful of owners describe the illumiflow 272 on Reddit between 2022 and 2025, in r/tressless, r/hairlosstreatments and r/FemaleHairLoss, and none carries a link or code.
  • On durability, one owner who bought a 272 on Amazon in 2018 called it still going strong in January 2025, and another said in July 2025 that the illumiflow cap bought seven or eight years earlier, used three or four times a week, had just broken.
  • One owner returned a failed battery pack in December 2023 and had a replacement in about a week and a half, praising the email follow-up but noting there is no phone line, which a would-be buyer in 2022 had also found.
  • A UK owner said in September 2025 that the cap was too big for her head with no way to tighten it, and that she paid about 150 pounds in import duty.
  • None of this coverage is of a flexible 6-minute cap.

Google

+2 Capillus
Capillus PRO S1
7.0
illumiflow 312 Ultra
5.0

The illumiflow 312 Ultra reading covers the whole brand.

What they say

Capillus PRO S1

  • Innerbody Research, which earns commission on its buy links, handled the Pro S1 hands-on for its laser-cap guide (last updated January 2025), named it "best feature set," and photographed it sitting noticeably deeper on the head than the Kiierr 272 MD.
  • Its testers found the Bluetooth app quick and consistent to connect, with the session timer pausing whenever the cap came off, though the serial-number registration video in the app was not accessible.
  • The same commission-earning guide lists the Pro S1 at $2,999 with a 3-year cap warranty, 1-year battery and adapter cover, 4 to 5 sessions per charge, a 6-month guarantee and a 25 percent restocking fee, and puts it at nearly three times the $999 Kiierr 272 Premier.
  • Other Pro S1 pages from Red Light Skin Lab (Amazon affiliate links), ReHair Laser, Healthspotr (commission links) and Hair Helpline are templated spec write-ups with no hands-on use and are not counted.

illumiflow 312 Ultra

  • No hands-on review shows the 312 Ultra or illumiflow's other flexible caps in use; the pages naming them restate specifications.
  • This reading is of the rigid 272.
  • Matt Kornfield, writing on Medium in October 2022 with no affiliate link, bought the 272 himself for about $650, wore it every other day for 30 minutes over six months, and found it simple to use, though it beeps loudly and warms the head.
  • Wareable's August 2026 guide, which earns commission through its illumiflow, Kiierr and iRestore links and says each cap was worn by a team member over six months, named the 272 Pro its pick for deep stimulation, found the design comfortable, and counted the 30-minute every-other-day sessions and a less premium feel as drawbacks.
  • Innerbody Research, which links the cap through an Amazon affiliate tag and sells Kiierr under its own code, found the 272 the lowest-priced 272-laser cap but its battery good for three to four sessions, about half of Kiierr's, and noted that the case costs extra and that guarantee refunds carry a 25 percent fee.
  • None of this coverage is of a flexible 6-minute cap.

YouTube

tied
Capillus PRO S1
5.0
illumiflow 312 Ultra
5.0

The Capillus PRO S1 reading covers its product line; the illumiflow 312 Ultra reading covers the whole brand.

What they say

Capillus PRO S1

  • HairHoney's February 2022 video (11,414 views, stated not sponsored, a unit bought for her mother) on a 272-laser Capillus priced near $3,000 calls the dome massive and hard to keep on straight and notes slight warmth, while crediting the six-minute session and the $58-a-month payment plan.
  • Ryan's Reviews & Tutorials (December 2023, 6,470 views, Amazon affiliate links in the description) has run an older 30-minute Capillus for eight years and finds its shell identical to the Illumiflow 272, with 3 to 4 sessions per charge and a loose sit on smaller heads.
  • Florencia Rodriguez's May 2023 video (6.3K views) on the 82-laser Capillus Ultra, used about 18 months, notes a battery pack good for several uses, an included case and the sensor that cuts the lasers when the cap comes off.
  • Beautyistic's June 2025 video on the 272-laser Capillus Pro (338 views, commission links in the description) calls the silicone lining snug and the price steep.

illumiflow 312 Ultra

  • No YouTube video shows the 312 Ultra or illumiflow's other flexible caps in use; the videos naming them are desk read-outs or first-party.
  • This reading is of the rigid 272.
  • Ryan's Reviews & Tutorials, which earns Amazon commission through its links to both the illumiflow 272 and the Capillus it compares, set the 272 beside the Capillus he had used for eight years in December 2023 (about 6,500 views).
  • He found the two shells almost identical in shape, size, material and fit, with the illumiflow adding a status light, a chirp and a 30-minute automatic shut-off, and got about three to four sessions per charge.
  • Its battery plug differs, so the two caps' batteries are not interchangeable, and on a smaller head the cap sits back or has to be propped up; he had not owned it long enough to judge how long it lasts. illumiflow's own channel and the Premium Web channel run by its site operator are first-party and not counted.
  • None of this coverage is of a flexible 6-minute cap.

Amazon

+1 Capillus
Capillus PRO S1
6.0
illumiflow 312 Ultra
5.0

The illumiflow 312 Ultra reading covers the whole brand.

What they say

Capillus PRO S1

  • The Amazon US listing (ASIN B0BC9Z2GHX), sold by Curallux and shipped by Amazon at $2,199, holds 3.1 from 17 ratings, split 46 percent five-star against 44 percent one-star.
  • Four of the eight reviews shown on the listing describe a cap that stopped powering on or would not take a charge, two of them after five to six months, and two owners say a return or refund was refused once the window had closed.
  • On the other side, one gift buyer praises the build, comfort and carrying case, and one owner with a 23.5-inch head got a full refund from customer service when the S1 fit tight, then moved to the S2.
  • The 272-laser Capillus PRO (3.4 from 12) and the Spectrum (3.4 from 9) carry their own separate review files.

illumiflow 312 Ultra

  • illumiflow's only cap file on Amazon US is the rigid 272's, so this reading of the 312 Ultra is of that file. illumiflow's one cap listing on Amazon US (ASIN B07369NRJV), sold by illumiflow at $899.99, is the 272 and reads 3.7 from 497 ratings, split 51 percent five-star against 19 percent one-star with 30 percent across the middle three bands, read 2 October 2026.
  • Review text and Vine labels need sign-in, so the pool is scored from the split alone, and a point below the doubled average because illumiflow's rebate page offers $100 for a post on Amazon and its BBB reply says it always offers rebates or gift cards for reviews.
  • None of this coverage is of a flexible 6-minute cap.

Owner reviews

one side unscored
Capillus PRO S1
4.0
illumiflow 312 Ultra
—

The Capillus PRO S1 reading covers its product line; no usable source for the illumiflow 312 Ultra.

What they say

Capillus PRO S1

  • Costco's listing for the 272-laser Capillus Pro Cap (item 4000187826, $1,199.99 when listed, no longer returned by Costco search) holds 3.5 from 67 native member reviews posted August 2023 to April 2025, 43 percent five-star against 27 percent one-star, with 14 recommending and 14 not.
  • None of the 67 is syndicated or flagged incentivised.
  • Fit comes up in 12 reviews, with several saying the one-size cap is too small or has to be held on and one saying Capillus refused to supply a size above 24 inches.
  • Two reviews report battery-pack faults, one beeping nonstop out of the box and one failing after five uses on a second purchase after an earlier pack was repaired.

illumiflow 312 Ultra

No usable source.

Capillus PRO S1 vs illumiflow 312 Ultra: pros and cons

What each one does well, and where it falls short.

Capillus PRO S1

What we like

  • 304 lasers at 650 nm and 5 mW each1,520 mW total stated
  • Class 3R statedwith wavelength and per-diode output published
  • 6-minute auto-timed daily sessioncordless
  • 3-year cap warranty
  • Fits heads up to 24 inchesan inch more than the PRO

What holds it back

  • Sold as FDA-clearedlisted under K162994 and K163170, which describe no 304-diode cap
  • Sold out on capillus.com at $2,499$2,199 on Amazon from Curallux
  • Amazon 3.1 from 1744 percent one-star
  • Stopped powering on or charging4 of 8 Amazon reviews shown
  • Battery pack and adapter covered 1 year
  • Guarantee refunds keep a 25 percent fee and return shipping

illumiflow 312 Ultra

What we like

  • 312 lasers272 at 650 nm and 40 at 808 nm
  • 1,560 mW total per illumiflowthe most of any illumiflow cap
  • 6-minute daily sessions with an on-head sensor and auto-off
  • Flexible carbon-fibre cap

What holds it back

  • No 510(k) describes itthough its page says FDA cleared
  • $1,699the most expensive illumiflow cap
  • Sold on pre-saleshipping in one to two weeks
  • No output measurement published
  • 2-year warranty
  • No Amazon listing or product-level review

Capillus PRO S1 vs illumiflow 312 Ultra: the numbers

Price, scores and rank, then only the specs that differ. Green marks the side with more.

Capillus PRO S1 Laser Cap

4-304-1-US-111-12

Capillus PRO S1 Laser Cap

$2,499

Buy Now
6.1
Overall
Usability6.4
Social5.4

13th of 40 in Hair Caps & Helmets

illumiflow 312 Ultra Laser Cap

ILLUMIFLOW-312-ULTRA

illumiflow 312 Ultra Laser Cap

$1,699

Buy Now
5.4
Overall
Usability6.2
Social5.0

20th of 40 in Hair Caps & Helmets

  • Wavelength bands
    CapillusRed (620-680 nm)
    illumiflowRed (620-680 nm), Near-infrared (800-880 nm)
  • FDA status
    CapillusRegistered or listed only
    illumiflowNot listed
  • Safety listings
    Capillus MoreIEC 60825 class stated
    illumiflowNone verifiable
  • Warranty
    Capillus More3 Years
    illumiflow2 Years

Same on both

  • Hair capDevice type
  • Not measuredMeasured irradiance
  • Not listedClaimed irradiance
  • Detachable battery packPower
  • 5-10 minSession length
  • Not listedDimensions
  • Not listedWeight

We earn a commission if you buy through these links. It never changes a score.

Not sold on either one?

The top-scored and the cheapest other pick from each brand.

More from Capillus 6 scored in Laser Hair Growth Caps & Helmets

Capillus PRO 272 Laser Cap
Top scoredCapillus PRO 272$1,699$800 less
7.4
What’s different
  • FDA status: 510(k) cleared, not Registered or listed only
Pick it ifVerification matters7vs2an FDA 510(k) clearance only on the PRO 272
Capillus Red Light Brush
Lowest priceCapillus Red Light Brush$225$2,274 less
4.1
What’s different
  • FDA status: Not stated, not Registered or listed only
  • Warranty: 60 Days, not 3 Years
Pick it ifValue matters5vs4

More from illumiflow 4 scored in Laser Hair Growth Caps & Helmets

illumiflow 272 Pro Laser Cap
Top scoredillumiflow 272 Pro$899$800 less
7.7
What’s different
  • Wavelength bands: no Near-infrared (800-880 nm)
  • FDA status: 510(k) cleared, not Not stated
Pick it ifVerification matters7vs2
illumiflow 148 Laser Cap
Lowest priceillumiflow 148$799$900 less
6.7
What’s different
  • Wavelength bands: no Near-infrared (800-880 nm)
  • FDA status: 510(k) cleared, not Not stated
Pick it ifVerification matters7vs2

Capillus PRO S1 vs illumiflow 312 Ultra: common questions

Is the Capillus PRO S1 better than the illumiflow 312 Ultra?

On our scores, the Capillus PRO S1 is ahead, 6.1 against 5.4. The Capillus PRO S1 leads on warranty & support (6 against 4) and wavelength spec (10 against 9). The illumiflow 312 Ultra leads on build quality (7 against 5).

Which is cheaper, the Capillus PRO S1 or the illumiflow 312 Ultra?

The illumiflow 312 Ultra, at $1,699 against $2,499: $800 less.

Which has more safety listings, the Capillus PRO S1 or the illumiflow 312 Ultra?

The Capillus PRO S1. The Capillus PRO S1 lists IEC 60825 class stated; the illumiflow 312 Ultra lists none.

Which has the longer warranty, the Capillus PRO S1 or the illumiflow 312 Ultra?

The Capillus PRO S1: 3 Years, against 2 Years.

What do owners say about the Capillus PRO S1 and the illumiflow 312 Ultra?

Across 4 independent sources scored for both, the Capillus PRO S1 is ahead on Google and Amazon; Reddit and YouTube are level.

More laser hair growth caps & helmets comparisons

More head-to-heads with these two.

Scores calculated 8 October 2026 · Products excluded where fewer than two independent sources cover them ·  · How we score

Stuff VS Things
Logo
Compare items
  • Total (0)
Versus
2
Shopping cart