Tern Orox R14 All-Terrain Electric Cargo Bike

  • Class 1
  • 601-800 Wh
  • Over 80 mi claimed
  • Over 400 lb max load

SVT Score, Top

Versus
5.6
SVT SCORESRead review

The Orox with a Rohloff hub, a belt drive and an 800 Wh pack: a fat-tire longtail for long trips, at a premium price and weight.

$6,999

We may earn a commission if you buy through this link. It never affects our scores. How this works

SKU: 18-9-11 Category: Brand:

Usability

5.6 out of 10
  • Option: dual-battery ready, 1,600 Wh with a second pack sold separately
  • Range: 58-100 mi claimed on one pack
  • Load: 463 lb gross on pavement, 397 lb off-road
  • Searched: Intertek Certipedia UL SGS TÜV SÜD CPSC Health Canada
  • Record: Intertek ETL, ANSI/CAN/UL-2849 (Electrical Systems for eBikes), none: drive-system listing, does not name any Tern bike, ROBERT BOSCH LLC - Foothill Ranch, CA
  • Frame: Tern frame, fork and handlepost five years, ten with Tern Care; other Tern parts one year

Strengths

  • Large battery with room for a second
  • Powerful four-piston brakes
  • GPS tracking and alarm built in
  • Huge tires grip snow and dirt
  • Rohloff hub and belt need little upkeep

Drawbacks

  • Very heavy to lift
  • Struggles on muddy trails
  • Long frame is hard to store
  • Premium price for a cargo bike
  • Rigid fork passes bumps through
Verdict

A low-upkeep expedition cargo bike for long trips, but heavy and costly

Social score

7.7 out of 10
RedditProduct-line8 out of 10

r/CargoBike (Jul 2024): a new Orox S12 owner says the Orox felt superior to the GSD from the start in Eurobike test rides

Google8 out of 10
Liked
  • climbing
  • low-upkeep drivetrain
  • accessory range
Complaints
  • deep mud
  • weight
Read the full summary

BikeRadar (unit source not stated) rated the R14 4/5 and found most off-road climbs within its reach (Feb 2024)|Cycling Electric (unit source not stated) rated it 4.4/5 and said it needs towing out at the first sign of proper mud (May 2024)

YouTubeBrand-level7 out of 10

ElectricBikeReview.com, which takes manufacturer testing fees, has video-reviewed several Tern cargo bikes and called the GSD S10 Gen 3 the best cargo e-bike it had tested (Dec 2025)

AmazonNot scored

The Amazon pool is blank: the search turned up no Tern e-bike sold on Amazon by Tern or an official Tern store (October 2026).

User reviewsNot scored

The retailer pool is blank: none of Walmart, Best Buy, Target, Costco, Dick's Sporting Goods, REI, Home Depot or Lowe's lists the Orox R14 (October 2026).

Reviews
  • Trustpilot shows one review of ternbicycles.com, from October 2022, for a TrustScore of 3.2.
  • That single review is one-star, so the page is 0% five-star and 100% one-star.
  • The Trustpilot page is unclaimed and has no history of inviting reviews (October 2026).
Track record
  • The BBB holds no business file for Stile Products in Lakewood, California (October 2026).
  • CPSC and Health Canada list no recall of a Tern e-bike (searched October 2026).
  • Stile Products recalled Tern Link, Verge and Eclipse folding bikes for frame cracks in 2013, 2014 and 2016.
Not countedExcluded

Not counted in any pool: the brand's own store reviews, its YouTube channel and Facebook page, and dealer pages and dealer videos.

Specs

  • TypeCargo
  • E-Bike ClassClass 1
  • Battery601-800 Wh
  • MotorMid-drive
  • Top SpeedUp to 20 mph
  • Claimed RangeOver 80 mi
  • Weight71-85 lb
  • Max Rider LoadOver 400 lb
  • BrakesHydraulic disc
  • SuspensionNone
  • FoldingDoes not fold
  • CertificationsClaimed only
  • Warranty2 Years

At a glance

  • Rohloff Speedhub 14-speed
  • Schwalbe Johnny Watts
  • Medium and Large frames
  • Stile Products, Inc. of Lakewood, California operates that store.
  • The brand is owned by Mobility Holdings, Ltd. of New Taipei City, Taiwan, which also issues the warranty.
  • Tern e-bikes are sold in the US through Tern Store USA at store.ternbicycles.com.
  • Every e-bike ordered online ships to the nearest authorized Tern dealer, or to a certified shop where no dealer is near, for assembly and pickup.
  • Authorized bike dealers across the US also sell the range, from ultra-low-step city bikes and compact folders to fat-tire longtails.
  • The search turned up no Tern e-bike sold on Amazon by Tern or an official Tern store (October 2026).
  • The store takes returns within 30 days of purchase.
  • Of the eight major US retailers, only REI sells Tern e-bikes, and no Tern listing there reaches ten reviews (the Quick Haul P9 Sport leads with 7); Walmart, Best Buy, Target, Costco, Dick's Sporting Goods, Home Depot and Lowe's carry none (October 2026).

The Tern Orox R14 is a longtail all-terrain cargo e-bike on the Bosch Smart System, with a Performance Line CX mid-drive rated 85 Nm and an 800 Wh Bosch pack; Bosch prints watt-hours only. It is dual-battery ready for 1,600 Wh with a second pack.

It has a Rohloff 14-speed hub with a Gates belt, Magura MT5 four-piston hydraulic brakes on 203 mm rotors, a rigid chromoly fork and 27.5 x 4 in Schwalbe Johnny Watts tires. Tern lists 83.1 lb in size medium, a 463 lb maximum gross vehicle weight on pavement and 397 lb off-road, and 220 lb on the Atlas X rack.

A Kiox 300 colour display, eBike Lock and a ConnectModule for alarm and tracking (Flow+ subscription) are included. It assists to 20 mph with no throttle, and Tern claims 58 to 100 miles on one pack. Lights and fenders are fitted. Medium and Large frames sell at one price.

Every order ships to a Tern dealer for assembly and pickup.

Questions answered from our data

All questions we answer

Stuff VS Things
Logo
Compare items
  • Total (0)
Versus
0
Shopping cart